This handbook is a schematic guide and a sampler on political science. It first provides an overview of the state of political science as a discipline before turning to a discussion of political theory and its relationship with the discipline of political science, history, philosophy, and “real world” politics. It also explores contemporary themes and developments in political science, from liberalism and communitarianism to feminism, democracy and critical theory, green political theory, and post-structuralism.
This title on political science highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in this field ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century.
This comprehensive work traces the evolution of political theories, concepts, research frameworks, and political practices from across the world. As it examines the interplay of political ideas and processes, the encyclopedia also conveys the vitality and excitement of politics in practice.
Examines the ideas of the major political theorists from before Plato to our own times; the main schools of political thought; the concepts and issues that have captured the imagination and attention of political theorists; and some of the main institutions and practices inspired by political thought.
The Encyclopedia of Political Communication discusses the major theoretical approaches to the field, including direct and limited effects theories, agenda-setting theories, sociological theories, framing and priming theories, and other past and present conceptualizations. The audiences for political communications are also central, necessitating concentration on citizen reactions to political messages, how the general public and voters in democratic systems respond to political messages, and the effects of all types of media and message types.
This Handbook of Political Sociology provides the first complete survey of the vibrant field of political sociology. Part I explores the theories of political sociology. Part II focuses on the formation, transitions, and regime structure of the state. Part III takes up various aspects of the state that respond to pressures from civil society, including welfare, gender, and military policies. And Part IV examines globalization.
Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right contains articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles, with those usually thought of as left in the left-hand, and those considered on the right in the right-hand.
This work provides an overview of the most important contemporary events and themes of global politics—including globalisation, the ever-present threat of war, and conflict and terrorism. With the aid of maps, lists, key facts and summary information, it offers a discussion of the effects that globalisation has had on global affairs.
The second edition of this Handbook contains more than 30 new and original articles as well as six essential updates by leading scholars of global environmental politics. This landmark book maps the latest theoretical and empirical research in this energetic and growing field. Captured here are the pioneering and lively debates over concerns for the health of the planet and how they might best be addressed.
Contains new and updated original articles covering recent concepts (i.e. adoption, race, the Constitution, birthright citizenship) and court cases since 1992 offering comprehensive coverage of all aspects of constitutional law, as well as biographies of people who have had an impact on our government's legal framework (Supreme Court Justices, Presidents, Cabinet Members, Lawyers, and more). Also covers judicial decisions handed down by the Supreme Court.
Contemporary philosophers continue to press new arguments on old and timeless questions, but also to propose departures and innovations. The field changes over time, and new work inevitably responds both to events in the world and to the directions of thought itself. This volume includes twenty-two new pieces by leaders in the field on both perennial and emerging topics of keen interest to contemporary political philosophers.
From the United States to the Middle East, Asia and Africa, religion has become an increasingly important factor in political activity and organisation. This Handbook provides a definitive global survey of the interaction of religion and politics
This publication presents an analysis of the social science literature on governance. It puts forth the core concepts and knowledge that have evolved in the study of governance in different levels and arenas of politics and policymaking. In so doing, it establishes itself as the essential point of reference for all those studying politics, society, and economics from a governance perspective. The volume comprises fifty-two articles from leaders in the field.
Written by a team of international experts, drawn from various traditions of political theology, this outstanding resource brings together newly-commissioned essays in the field. Demonstrates that Christian theology is inherently political and shows how theology impacts on present-day political issues. Considers the interface of theology with political ideologies, including the contribution of theology to feminist, ecological, black and pacifist movements. Assesses the contribution of the major political theologians and theological movements. Explores the political aspects of Christian sources such as scripture and liturgy.
Covers alphabetically both the major concepts in political theory and the key writers in the field. While ensuring accuracy and objectivity, the entries represent interpretations that are both challenging and interesting.
A clear and lively introduction to the terminology of political science for students and general readers. The book comprises rigorous definitions and explanations of key terms, including short biographies of the most eminent writers in the discipline - both classical and modern.
A comprehensive and concise guide to one of the most important branches of philosophy. This book guides the reader through the intricacies of political theory, enabling them to trace their way through a debate, fixing historical and theoretical points of reference along the way. It is well suited for students studying political philosophy at university. Political Philosophy A-Z links up positions, thinkers and theories without unnecessary technicality. It is a valuable guide to political theorising.
This Dictionary offers a fresh, up-to-date look at US government and politics, explaining and where necessary demystifying the key terms used in discussion of the political system. Major figures, events, ideas, movements and Supreme Court cases relevant to a study of the American political system are included with the aim of allowing readers to develop a deeper knowledge and understanding of the area. The Dictionary also raises key issues and areas of contention and academic debate.
Ancient political thought, 800 BCE-30 CE -- Medieval politics, 30 CE-1515 CE -- Rationality and enlightenment, 1515-1770 -- Revolutionary thoughts, 1770-1848 -- The rise of the masses, 1848-1910 -- The clash of ideologies, 1910-1945 -- Postwar politics, 1945-present.
In-depth information on major political theories and systems from all time periods. Each entry begins with a general overview of the system/theory followed by a discussion of the principal aspects of the theory, the theory's philosophy and an analysis of the historical context in which the theory was developed, including critical response.
No legislature in the world has a greater influence over its nation's public affairs than the US Congress. Congress's centrality in the US system of government has placed research on Congress at the heart of scholarship on American politics. Generations of American government scholars working in a wide range of methodological traditions have focused their analysis on understanding Congress, both as a law-making and a representative institution