Research Guides: Cultural Heritage II: The Atlantic World: Articles

Interdisciplinary Searching

For some of your topics, you might find it helpful to search in several disciplines. Use the "Databases by Academic Department" to brainstorm other subject-specific databases for your research.

JSTOR

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
a full-text database with a very good number scholarly history journals. In most cases, it archives the full run of the journal up until a couple of years ago. Here are a few tips for working in JSTOR.

Because JSTOR is a full-text archive rather than an indexing tool, you will not find any subject headings or descriptors. Choose your keywords carefully to narrow down your results
It is often helpful to limit the journals you search to relevant subject areas.
Use date ranges to search for primary materials, including pamphlets.

America History and Life

America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present. It is not a full-text database so be sure to check the links to Full Text Options. It may be best to narrow your topic before you use this database.

Examples:

Reckoning with Slavery: A Critical Study in the Quantitative History of American Negro Slavery.Citation Only Available [Review] Woodman, Harold D.; Journal of American History; 1977 64(1): 150-151, 2p. Historical Period: 17c-1865 (AN: A000101795.01)
Database: America: History & Life
Add to folder

Full Text Options - Hope College Search HopeCat Interlibrary Loan

Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Subject: History
Content/Description: Provides scholarly journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).

Examples:

CARIBBEAN CONNECTIONS: BRITAIN, SLAVERY AND EMPIRE BEFORE ABOLITIONISM.Citation Only Available Petley, Christer.; Cultural & Social History; 2008 5(3): 355-364, 10p. Historical Period: 17c-18c (AN: H800058253.01)
Database: Historical Abstracts
Add to folder

Full Text Options - Hope College Search HopeCat Interlibrary Loan
SLAVERY AND THE TRANSATLANTIC SLAVE TRADE.Citation Only Available Morgan, Kenneth.; International History Review; 2008 30(4): 785-795, 11p. Historical Period: 1600-1860 (AN: H800063799.01)
Database: Historical Abstracts
Add to folder

Full Text Options - Hope College Search HopeCat Interlibrary Loan

Research/Instruction Librarians

Van Wylen Library

Contact:

Get in touch with a librarian!