Graphic Novels/Comics: Web Links

A significant comics and graphic novels news, reviews, and previews site. Also includes movie and other pop culture news.

A long-running (16 years) independent review and news site.

A librarian-created review site covering graphic novels for kids, teens, and adults, including manga and anime.

Find out about upcoming publications using the Previews catalog -- a resource used by comic book stores and comic book patrons to keep up with new and ongoing titles.

Women Write About Comics.

Hobby shop in Holland, MI, that has a small selection of new and back issue comics.

Opened in early 2016 and located in Northwest Grand Rapids, MI

Comic shop in southern Grand Rapids, MI.

Comic book store in Grand Rapids, MI.

Comic book store in downtown Grand Rapids, MI, with additional locations in Ann Arbor and Detroit.

"The Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum houses the world’s largest collection of materials related to cartoons and comics, including original art, books, magazines, journals, comic books, archival materials, and newspaper comic strip pages and clippings."

"The Center for Cartoon Studies (CCS) is dedicated to providing the highest quality of education to students interested in creating visual stories. CCS’s curriculum of art, graphic design, and literature reflect the wide array of skills needed to create comics and graphic novels. CCS emphasizes self-publishing and prepares its students to publish, market, and disseminate their work."

"This collection focuses on comics created specifically for the web and supplements the Library of Congress’ extensive holdings in both comic books, graphic novels, and original comic art. Webcomics are an increasingly popular format utilized by contemporary creators in the field and often includes material by artists not available elsewhere. Webcomics selected for this collection include award-winning comics (Eisner Awards, Harvey Awards, Eagle Awards, and Shuster Awards) as well as webcomics that have significance in the field due to longevity, reputation, and subject matter. This collection includes work by artists and subjects not traditionally represented in mainstream comics, including women artists and characters, artists and characters of color, LGBTQ+ artists and characters, as well as subjects such as politics, health and human sexuality, and autobiography. The content of these websites is captured as it was originally produced and may include content that is not suitable for all ages."

"Comic Book Legal Defense Fund is a non-profit organization dedicated to protecting the First Amendment rights of the comics medium."

An online encyclopedia of comic artists.

Like the Oscars, but for comics!

"The Grand Comics Database™ (GCD) is an ongoing international project to build a detailed comic-book database that will be easy to use and understand, and also easy for contributors to add information to it. The official Vision Statement is: "The Grand Comics Database™ Project intends to be the most comprehensive online comics database for comic readers, collectors, scholars and professionals." This fully searchable and sortable database includes information on creator credits, story details, and other information useful to the comic-book reader, fan, collector, and scholar."