This is the main portal to databases and other library sources for communications research at Van Wylen Library, Hope College.
Last Updated: Sep 26, 2013
Custom 1Search for Communications
Books include collections of scholarly essays on topics.
MeLCat (remember to check HopeCAT first)
When you find a citation in a database that doesn't have the full text of the article included, look for these links:
Following these links will search our system to see if we have it available somewhere else. Be patient, sometimes you have to click through several links to get to the article!
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
Communication database with citations and some full-text articles.
- Social Sciences Abstracts
Abstracts to articles in the social sciences
- Sociological Abstracts
Citations & abstracts, sociology
- Project MUSE
Full-text journals, humanities & social sciences
- Web of Science
Citation index for all disciplines (1955-present)
Psychology & related fields since 1887
- Political Science Complete
full text for more than 530 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles
- Academic OneFile
Mostly scholarly articles; some unique to this database.
- Film Literature Index
Citation index for publications on film from 1976-2001
full image, full-text archive of business, humanities, and social science journals
Tip: limit to articles on the search screen
- Google Scholar
Search the open web for scholarly literature (journal articles and abstracts, books and book previews, theses, etc.). Access to some full-text articles may not be available from off-campus. Please contact a librarian for access issues.