Research Guides: Open Access: Open Access Publishers & Journals

Open Access Journals: Green, Gold & Hybrid

There are many types of Open Access journals, Green, Gold, and Hybid being the most frequent types. Green open access policies give authors permission to self-archive in some way, usually in an institutional repository. Gold journals provide immediate access to articles but the author or author's institution pays a fee at time of publication.

Hybrid journals are closed-access journals (journals which require subscriptions for access) that allow authors to pay fees to make their articles immediately open access. Publishers do not decrease subscription fees, however, even if author fees paid for an entire issue. this "double-dipping" gives publishers an additional revenue stream, yet subscription prices continue to rise. Hope's OA Fund cannot be used to pay author fees for a closed-access journal.

In response to the research community's expressed desire for OA, journal publishers continue to update their policies, with over 80% allowing some form of self-archiving (green OA).

(Harnad, S., T. Brody, F. Vallieres, L. Carr, S. Hitchcock, Y. Gingras, C. Oppenheim, C. Hajjem, and E. Hilf. "The Access/Impact Problem and the Green and Gold Roads to Open Access: An Update." Serials Review 34.1 (2008): 36-40. Web.)

Gold Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Provides open access to peer-reviewed, scholarly journal articles covering a wide range of subjects.

BioMed Central - The Open Access Publisher
Publisher of over 300 peer-reviewed open access journals.
Open Libraries of Humanities
The OLH is a not-for-profit enterprise with the sole mission of advancing open access to scholarship in the humanities.
Public Library of Science
PLoS is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource. It contains seven online peer-reviewed scientific and medical journals.

SHERPA / ROMEO

SH ERPA / ROMEO is a database of permissions that are normally given as part of each publisher's copyright transfer agreement. Your can search by journal title or by publisher to determine what a publisher will allow under their standard agreement. A faculty adopted open access policy should specify what level of archiving is acceptable.

ROMEO colour	Archiving policy
green	can archive pre-print and post-print or publisher's version/PDF
blue	can archive post-print (ie final draft post-refereeing) or publisher's version/PDF
yellow	can archive pre-print (ie pre-refereeing)
white	archiving not formally supported

Publisher copyright policies & self-archiving

Evaluating Open Access Journals

When selecting a high-quality open access journal for your research, a good rule of thumb is to make sure that any journal you select is indexed in DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals). Additional evaluation tools are listed below:

Journal Evaluation Tool
Loyola Marymount University librarians Shilpa Rele, Marie Kennedy, and Nataly Blas have created a helpful rubric for evaluating journals. This PDF download from the LMU institutional repository includes steps for evaluating journals, a detailed rubric of criteria, and a scoring table to accompany the rubric.