Research Guides: .Women's and Gender Studies (General): Databases

Do We have this Article?

When you find a citation in a database that doesn't have the full text of the article included, look for these links:

full-text options or

Following these links will search our system to see if we have it available somewhere else. Be patient, sometimes you have to click through several links to get to the article!

Databases

Because of the multidisciplinary aspects of Women’s Studies, the databases you choose will depend on your specific research topic.

Descriptors to consider using in your searches are: sexism, feminist, feminism, feminist theory, gender, gender roles, sexual inequality, solidarity movements, womens groups, womens history, womens rights, and women's roles.

Gender Studies Database (1972-Current) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Gender Studies
Content/Description:Contains scholarly journal articles, books, periodicals, and reviews from multiple gender databases covering issues of sex and gender diversity.
LGBTQ+ Source (1950 - present) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Women’s & Gender Studies, Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Includes full-text articles, interview transcriptions and primary source documents from many of the top LGBT publications.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Female, female roles, and gender studies from a social sciences perspectives
ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Subject: Social Sciences
Content/Description: Grants access to articles and media across 11 databases.
America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Women's history topics
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (scholar's edition) This link opens in a new window
History of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000
Political Science Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
full text for more than 530 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles ranging from social movements, feminist theory, women's group, family communication to international discourse on women's issues
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
full image, full-text archive of business, humanities, and social science journals, including specifically women's studies
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Subject: Humanities, Social Sciences
Content/Description: Contains full-text journals
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Gender issues (in education), womens education, females, and sex differences
APA PsycInfo (1806-present) This link opens in a new window
Sex roles, gender identity, human sex differences, and human females from a psychological perspective
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials This link opens in a new window
Feminism and religion
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Feminist literary criticism and female characters

Need Help?

Van Wylen Library

Contact:

Get in touch with a librarian!

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete (1867 to Present) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description:Peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles, historical reviews, abstracts, and indexing from content as far back as 1867.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description:Includes a collection of databases with citations on the Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences and other topics.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Search the open web for scholarly articles, books and book previews, theses, and abstracts. Access to some full-text articles may not be available from off-campus. Please contact a librarian for access issues.