This is the main portal to databases and other library sources for history research at Van Wylen Library, Hope College.
Last Updated: Jul 17, 2013
When you find a citation in a database that doesn't have the full text of the article included, look for these links:
Following these links will search our system to see if we have it available somewhere else. Be patient, sometimes you have to click through several links to get to the article!
- America: History and Life
Index to articles and other sources on the history of U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present
- Historical Abstracts
Index to articles and other sources on world history from 1450 to the present (excludes U.S. and Canadian history; see America: History and Life)
- International Medieval Bibliography
Index to articles, proceedings, and essay collections published worldwide covering the period between A.D. 400 and 1500
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Index to articles and books published worldwide covering the Middle Ages and Renaissance (A.D. 400-1700)
full image, full-text archive of business, humanities, and social science journals
- Project MUSE
Full-text journals, humanities & social sciences
- Political Science Complete
full text for more than 530 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles
- Web of Science
Citation index for all disciplines (1955-present)
- Google Scholar
Search the open web for scholarly literature (journal articles and abstracts, books and book previews, theses, etc.). Access to some full-text articles may not be available from off-campus. Please contact a librarian for access issues.