Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hope Library Guides

ENGL 113 - Moreau: Scholarly Articles

Is it Scholarly?

Below are five different articles that can be found in Primo.  Working in groups and using the criteria we discussed, vote on whether or not you think this is a scholarly article. 

#NODARETOOSTUPID

Social Media and Body Image Concerns: Further Considerations and Broader Perspectives

Social Media and Teen Anxiety

“Friending” Teens: Systematic Review of Social Media in Adolescent and Young Adult Health Care

Articles in Primo

Tips for Articles in Primo

  • Because articles (particularly scholarly ones) tend to be more narrow in their focus, consider using narrower keywords in your searches than you would for locating books.
  • Narrowing to articles includes magazines and journals. Newspapers are searched through a different section of Primo.

Primo Resource types

  • You can use the "Show Only" peer reviewed journals to either limit to or exclude these articles. 

‚Äč

  • Consider narrowing further using the Topics section (one way that Primo handles subject headings)
  • The majority of articles will like directly to the full text from the green bars in the "View Online" section. For some articles (mostly in Open Access collections) you may need to search the article again from the publication's landing page.

Voting

Subject Specific Databases

Frustrated by the results you are seeing in Primo? Browse the Databases A-Z list for more specific disciplinary tools that match your topic. Narrow down the possibilities by subject area, and look for the recommended Best Bets. You can also ask Jessica for suggestions for good databases for your topic.

Reminder: Databases usually aren't 100% full text, so use the Find Full Text  button to search Primo for the full text. If we don't have it and you have a little time before you need it, consider using InterLibrary Loan to request it from another library.