Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Please note: Off-campus access to many library resources is temporarily unavailable. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Hope Library Guides

Library Support for Online Teaching: Off Campus Links

Advice for Creating Off-Campus Links

To access library subscription content off-campus, the links must be “proxied” which means users must be routed through a login screen where they enter their 1Hope username and password to show their Hope affiliation.

 

There are a couple of ways to do this. If you are direct linking to the article or ebook, make sure that the URL contains some version of the following: “ezproxy.hope.edu.” These links will ask students to log in when they are off-campus and most of our databases will offer you this link to copy. If you don’t see it you can manually add it to any link using our converter.

 

https://login.ezproxy.hope.edu/login?url=https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=240519&xtid=58281

 

If you found the resource via Primo, you can also just provide the link to the record in Primo. The “View Online” green link

 

Primo record with arrow pointing to the permalink button and example permalink displayed

LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad is a browser add-on that provides single-click access to library content from publisher websites, Web of Science databases, PubMed, Wikipedia and more. It's like a shortcut to our "Find Full Text" service. Want to see it in action? Watch this short video.

To get started:

Using Chrome, FireFox, Edge, Vivaldi, or Brave!, go to: www.LibKeyNomad.com

LibKey Nomad IconClick "Add to Chrome"

Search for and select 'Hope College' from the dropdown menu.

Look for the 'Nomad' button when browsing publisher websites

Other Methods for Connecting to Library Resources Off Campus

Other ways to connect to library subscription content from off campus include the following:

EZProxy Bookmarklet and Browser Extension 

This guide provides information on embedding these tools on your home computer to authenticate directly from a found resource. (Note: the library may have an article through another database than the one you found it in, so check Primo as well if you are still not allowed into the full text)

Linking Google Scholar to Hope Library

You can link Google Scholar to Hope Library resources under Google Scholar Settings

  1. Select Library Links
  2. Search for Hope College
  3. Check the Hope College Van Wylen Library - Full Text @ Hope College box
  4. Save
  5. Once this is saved, many search results will include "Full Text @ Hope College" links that will check Primo for online full text.

Google scholar record with "full test @ hope college" linke highlighted

google scholar record that also includes a [pdf] link that notes "the pdf link may or may not work off campus depending on where it leads and if you are logged in.

Google Scholar image pointing to the double arrows where additional Hope Library Full Text link checker lives.