Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Streaming Video Databases
Digital video, available from a variety of sources, can be added to Moodle. Library Video Subscriptions - When searching Primo, narrow Material to “Video” and limit to “available online” to see the bulk of our streaming content. You can find content there from the following streaming databases:
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowSubject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description:A collection of streaming film relating to the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Dance Online: Dance in Video, Volume I This link opens in a new windowSubject: Dance
Content/Description: Contains a collection of videos of dance productions and workshops covering a range of styles and eras for the study of 20th century concert dance.
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new windowSubject: Theatre
Content/Description: Contains full theatrical productions along with documentaries, ballets, operas, and interviews with theatre-makers.
The following streaming content isn’t indexed in Primo and must be searched separately:
OntheBoards.tv This link opens in a new windowSubject: Dance, Theatre
Content/Description: Grants streaming access to international contemporary dance and art performance films.
Business Video Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSubject: Business
Content/Description: Provides corporate training videos, executive interviews, case studies, “how to” features, and documentaries for both educators and students alike that focus on all aspects of the global business environment.
Our library staff can assist you in locating streaming videos, including converting library-owned DVDs into a temporary digital version you can add to Moodle. Please fill out this form to begin the process. We may be able to purchase titles that we do not currently own. We are not able to provide access to Netflix, Hulu, or Prime content that is cloud-based only. These companies do not work with libraries at this time.
If you only need short clips from longer films, you may be able to use screen capture software like Camtasia to do so. Camtasia is available in the Digital Media Lab and on library laptops. Our Digital Media Lab staff can also help create clips. Please use the form above to request this service.
We understand that copyright law and fair use exemptions are complex and we are here to help. We invite you to read through this information on copyright and streaming video for online courses.
Tips for Linking or Embedding Video Content on Moodle
If you have your own video files best practice is to upload these to Google Drive and link over to the content in Moodle (CIT Instructions).
Options for Linking or Embedding from Streaming Websites
- You can link to content either by inserting a URL, Label or Page.
- If linking to a library resource, make sure the URL includes the Library Proxy. It should contain somewhere in the link “ezproxy.hope.edu”
- Not seeing it? The library has a URL converter that can help add this. (https://hope.edu/library/services/url-converter/)
- Please ask if you have questions about off-campus accessibility
If you want to embed a player directly in Moodle ignore the Insert Media function and copy the embed code directly to the html
- Copy the embed code from the media website
- Open a Label or Page in Moodle
- Select the html icon </>
- Paste the embed code (is there other code there and you’re not sure where to put it? Very top or very bottom is safe)
- Embedding a library resource? Make sure that the proxy link is included so that it will play off campus
- Only want students to watch a portion? - more education friendly tools offer clipping options (including YouTube) (Alexander requires login)
Example of Proxied Link