Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hope Library Guides

English 113: Peschiera: Tools

Resources and Links for Dr. Peschiera's summer ENGL113 section

Primo

Primo is a good starting search tool for locating diverse library-based resources. Here are some suggestions for navigating results and considering authority.

  • Primo is very sensitive to search terms, so experiment! Note how including more technical terms in your search can cue for more research-oriented publications. Simpler searches and "lay" terminology can bring back more introductory and popular results.
  • Consider limiting to certain material types or eliminating things you are not interested in seeing. Note! Newspapers are a separate search entirely.
  • Learn about a journal or magazine by exploring what else is published there. Follow the green access buttons to browse or use the "View Issue Contents" when available.
  • See what else the author has published by following their linked name in the record. Results may bring back things by others by the same name.
  • See something that is only listed in print? Contact us about digital options.

Screen shot of Hope Primo highlighting sign in to save, Publication format, author, publication titles and peer reviewed limiter

Databases

Is there an academic discipline that you consider to have a particular authority on your topic? If so, consider searching within a disciplinary database from our A-Z Database List. You can narrow by subject area to find relevant databases or ask a librarian for a recommendation.

databases subject dropdown highlighting business

Tips

Try a couple different tools to see different angles on your topic

Databases often aren't full text because they are trying to be exhaustive, so use the green find full text button button to check for availability through Primo. We can order you what we don't have through InterLibrary Loan.