Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Excellent full-text database of scholarly journals from the humanities and social sciences. You can limit just to art history and/or history if this helps your results. Results are mostly limited materials published more than 4 years ago.
Indexes articles about historical topics back to 1450. This is not a full-text database, so you will use "full text options" like Art Abstracts. Has a neat feature that allows you to search by historical period.
Art and Architecture Source is one tool we have for locating art history articles. It searches for articles in over 500 art related publications. Combine your search with Art Index Retrospective to get more exhaustive historical coverage. First Select "Choose Database" then select
- Search for a simple combination of terms related to your image, not the image title as a whole. (for instance, search "Hildesheim and doors" not "Hildesheim cathedral doors of Bishop Bernwald"
- You can narrow your results by searching for an artist name as a Subject. Seeing lots of non-english articles? You can also add English as a language search term.
Look for "Full text Options" link to check for where to find the whole article. If we don't own it, you can easily ILL it.
This will search Primo for electronic and print holdings. If it is not available, use the green InterLibrary Loan button to request the article from another library.