Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Historical Abstracts is the major database for history related articles on topics other than the United States and Canada (see America: History and Life for this). You will probably find this database very helpful as you search for the historical background information on your topic. Here is a reminder of the many ways that you can control and limit your searches in order to get the best results.
NOTE: HA is not a full-text database, which means that you will often need to locate the journal in order to find an article in full.
Each of these databases contains a different selection of academic journals that you will find useful in doing your research projects from History 280. Many of these are dealt with in some detail in different corners of this research guide, either on this page or under the "Film Reviews" tab.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Content/Description: Provides scholarly journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Content/Description:Includes articles, books, reviews and other sources. "Data for Research" provides interactive content. "Workspace" saves and shares sources. "Text Analyzer" searches for sources with user documents. "Understanding Series" provides sources quoting selected text.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Subject: Humanities, Social Sciences
Content/Description: Contains full-text journals
Web of Science
Citation index for all disciplines (1955-present)
Content/Description: Search the open web for scholarly articles, books and book previews, theses, and abstracts. Access to some full-text articles may not be available from off-campus. Please contact a librarian for access issues.