Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Please note: Off-campus access to many library resources is temporarily unavailable. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Hope Library Guides

Zotero: Creating Annotated Bibliographies

Annotated Styles

Go to https://www.zotero.org/styles and search for annotated.  Currenty, there are two annotated styles available.

Importing CSL Styles to Zotero

Import any CSL files to Zotero:

  • Save the content as a text file with the extension .csl (e.g. apa_annotated_20120910.csl)
  • Import the CSL style file into Zotero (Cite>+)
  •  

     

    Add CSL styles is through the style manager in Zotero:

    1. Go to Zotero Preferences from the Edit menu:
     

    2. Select the Cite tab and then the Styles tab:

    3. Select the box with the "+" sign to import new styles.

     

     

    Using the APA Annotated Style to create an annotated bibliography

    • Prepare your citations by adding your annotation to the abstract field:

    • Select the citations you want to add to your bibliography (select multiple citations using ctrl-click)
    • Right-click on your selected citations and choose "Create Bibliography from Items"

    • Choose your citation style, output as bibliography, and select how you want to save it.

    Chicago Manual of Style Annotated

    Chicago Manual of Style Annotated

    Go to http://www.zotero.org/styles and find and download the style called Chicago Manual of Style (note, annotated bibliography)

    Put your annotation in the Extra field, towards the bottom of  the Info tab on the left. (You can cut-and-paste from a Note if you've already made an annotation there.)

    Select the items for your bibliography in the middle window and right-click to Create Bibliography from Selected Items. In the dialog box, choose Chicago Manual of Style (note, annotated bibliography) - this is the style you installed in the first step. Save as RTF, then you can open the file with Word. You may need to adjust the spacing, but your annotation should appear after the bibliographic citation for each item.