This is the main portal to databases and other library sources for political science research at Van Wylen Library, Hope College.
Last Updated: May 20, 2013
When you find a citation in a database that doesn't have the full text of the article included, look for these links:
Following these links will search our system to see if we have it available somewhere else. Be patient, sometimes you have to click through several links to get to the article!
Analysis of AMERICAN social and political issues
Analysis of GLOBAL social and political issues
- Political Science Complete
full text for more than 530 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles (including top-ranked scholarly journals), over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 38,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951.
- Social Sciences Abstracts
cumulative index to literature in the social sciences
- Web of Science
Citation database for all disciplines (Includes Social Sciences Citation Index)
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
article citations and some full-text articles (politics and media, campaign advertising, political news programming/viewing, etc.)
full image, full-text scholarly journal archive (not most recent)
- ABI / INFORM
scholarly and popular articles from business and economics periodicals, in addition to more general periodical titles
- Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
international legal information covering all areas of jurisprudence
for research in U.S. federal and state law, and British Commonwealth, European Union, and International law
News (including foreign languages), Law (cases and reviews) and Company Information
- GPO (Government Printing Office)
Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments
- Google Scholar
Search the open web for scholarly literature (journal articles and abstracts, books and book previews, theses, etc.). Some full-text articles may not be available from off-campus. Please contact a librarian for access issues.