This is the main portal to databases and other library sources for women's studies research at Van Wylen Library, Hope College.
Last Updated: Jan 28, 2013
When you find a citation in a database that doesn't have the full text of the article included, look for these links:
Following these links will search our system to see if we have it available somewhere else. Be patient, sometimes you have to click through several links to get to the article!
Because of the multidisciplinary
aspects of Women’s Studies, the databases you choose will depend on your
specific research topic.
Descriptors to consider using in your searches are: sexism, feminist, feminism, feminist theory, gender, gender roles, sexual inequality, solidarity movements, womens groups, womens history, womens rights, and women's roles.
- Social Sciences Abstracts
Abstracts to articles in the social sciences
- Sociological Abstracts
Female, female roles, and gender studies from a social sciences perspective
- Gender Studies Collection
magazines and academic journal articles on topics such as: gender studies, family and marital issues, health, etc.
- America: History and Life
Women’s history topics
- Political Science Complete
full text for more than 530 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Scholarly articles ranging from social movements, feminist theory, women's group, family communication to international discourse on women's issues
Full-image, full-text archive of humanities & social science journals, including specifically women's studies
Full-text journals, humanities & social sciences
Gender issues (in education), womens education, females, and sex differences
Sex roles, gender identity, human sex differences, and human females from a psychological perspective
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Publications from ethnic communities in the U.S. and the world (mostly non-scholarly)
- ATLA Religion
Feminism and religion
- Women and Social Movements in the U.S. (Scholar's Edition)
History of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000
- MLA Bibliography
Feminist literary criticism and female characters
- Art Abstracts
Feminist art criticism
- Web of Science
Citation index for all disciplines (1955-present)
- Google Scholar
Search the open web for scholarly literature (journal articles and abstracts, books and book previews, theses, etc.). Access to some full-text articles may not be available from off-campus. Please contact a librarian for access issues.
- POPLINE (POPulation information onLINE)
The world's largest database on reproductive health, containing citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues.