.Women's and Gender Studies (General): Reference Sources

Explores the lives of women in American society. Includes information on women's demographic trends, educational achievements, employment, financial status, parental responsibilities, political roles, victimization, and health issues.

Provides a survey of the discrimination and violence against women in developing countries, and identifies the literature and resources available about this topic.

Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation. Topics include changing conceptions of "the feminine," the family and masculinity, religion, morality, cultural images, medical practice, public health, economy and society and many more.

This book serves as a primer to the study of gender, including women's, queer, and men's studies. By employing literature, film, art, history, and other disciplines, it identifies areas of critical thought and practice in gender and sexuality studies; provides an overview of central themes, current topics, and seminal debates; and offers resources for further research.

Clear and concise biographies, on figures such as Marie Curie, Yingchao Deng, Diana, Princess of Wales, Nell Gwyn, Pope Joan, Sappho, Mary Shelley, and Mai Zetterling.

Biographical information about women: historical, current, and worldwide.

Gathers together articles to offer a diverse, rich, and often neglected panorama of the nation’s past.

An A-Z reference with entries on writers, on individual texts, and on general terms, genres and movements. The earliest written documents in medieval English (the visionary writings of Julian of Norwich and Margery Kempe) are covered in an historical - and geographical - sweep that takes us up to the present day.

The Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements covers the history of this movement through a cross-referenced dictionary with entries on specific countries and regions, influential historical figures, laws that criminalized same-sex sexuality, various historical terms that have been used to refer to aspects of same-sex love, and contemporary events and legal decisions.

illustrates the social change that took place in the lives of women during the Progressive Era, tells the story of key events such as the triumph of the suffrage movement from the lives of everyday American women, and brings to life the "real women" who lived during a period known for its political events, but less understood in terms of daily life.

The Encyclopedia of Gender covers gender differences, the "Psychology of Women" and the "Psychology of Men", discussing psychological differences in personality, cognition, and behavior, as well as biologically based differences and how those differences impact behavior.

A concise alphabetical guide to the key terms, issues, theoretical approaches, projects and thinkers in feminist philosophy.

Informed by current health issues and health-care realities, offers readers practical information, historical aspects, and future directions, all meticulously researched and conveniently presented.

"Presents easy-to-understand information on more than 200 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders"--Gale Virtual Reference Library.

This original and engaging text explores the core concepts in feminist theory.