Research Guides: IDS 100 Contagion: diseases, ideas, and human behaviors: Articles

Specific Databases to Try

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Includes articles, books, reviews and other sources. "Data for Research" provides interactive content. "Workspace" saves and shares sources. "Text Analyzer" searches for sources with user documents. "Understanding Series" provides sources quoting selected text.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Subject: History
Content/Description: Provides scholarly journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject: History
Content/Description: Covers the world's scholarly literature by providing journal articles and book excerpts on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada as far back as 1910.

History Databases for locating Journal Articles

Both of the main History Databases work the same. However, they contain different areas of focus.

For a global focus, see Historical Abstracts

For North American intersections, check out America: History and Life

Here is a reminder of the many ways that you can control and limit your searches (in both History Databases!!!) in order to get the best results. Open the images in a new tab to zoom in!

Tips for Jstor

Jstor is an excellent full text archive of humanities, social science and business journals and includes a large number of history journals.

This is not an exhaustive collection, and it will not contain things published within the last 4 years. For citations for the most current history articles, use America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts .
Remember, because you are searching the full text of the article, choose your keywords carefully to avoid getting irrelevant articles. A plus side of this is JSTOR is good for searching for more obscure referenes to a topic.

To limit your searches further, select specific disciplines from the limiting list.

To further control your search, use special search characters to increase the presence of certain important terms:
^# after a word will request that that particular word be present a minimum of # number of times in the article (ex. irish^10 AND soldier^10)
~# after two words in quotes will ask that those word be within # words of each other. (ex. "women* suffrage"~5)
Jstor is does not in include articles from the last 2-3 years of most of its journals, so for the most recent scholarship, search America: History and Life.