Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Do We have this Article?
When you find a citation in a database that doesn't have the full text of the article included, look for these links:
full-text options or
Following these links will search our system to see if we have it available somewhere else. Be patient, sometimes you have to click through several links to get to the article!
Teaching Channel This link opens in a new window
Content/Description:Streaming videos showing a variety of classroom lessons that align with educational standards and feature effective teaching practices.
Herrick District Library
The Holland public library is strong in more popular and local materials, so you may find resources there that we don't collect at Hope. Stop by the Van Wylen Circulation desk to learn how you can get a Herrick card to check out resources and access their digital collections.
Education Databases for Academic Research
The following databases are especially useful for locating peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Index of journals and unpublished research reports in education.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Content/Description: Includes full-text scholarly journal articles, periodicals, and reviews. Covers all levels of education - from early childhood to higher education - as well as educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
APA PsycInfo (1806-present) This link opens in a new window Subject:
Provides access to journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and reports.
Dissertations and books comprise 20% of the citations in this database. To limit your search results to journal articles from your search results, select this limit for scholarly journal articles
Coverage: 1806 - present
Education Databases for K-12
The following database contain content that is geared more toward K-12 students.
NoveList K-8 Plus This link opens in a new window
Subject: Literature, English, Education
Content/Description: Contains citations and synopses of K-8 books, with search filters for subject, age, awards, reading levels, and Common Core standards.
Database of Award-Winning Children's Lit This link opens in a new window
Content/Description: Provides a list of award-winning children's literature compiled by an academic librarian.
eBook K-8 Collection This link opens in a new window
Content/Description: Provides K-8 fiction and nonfiction ebooks - for school and for fun. Includes Picture books, homework topics, and language learning.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Content/Description: Contains full-text articles with reading level indicators for middle school magazines, biographies, historical essays, student pamphlets, primary source documents from American History, and image collections with photos, maps, and flags
eBook High School Collection This link opens in a new window
Content/Description:Provides high school level ebooks with unlimited access which covers academic subjects such as history, language, literature, science & technology.
MAS Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Education, Journalism, Communications
Content/Description: Contains articles, full-text documents, primary sources, images, maps, pdfs and video for high school magazines and biographies, with an image collection and full-text files (back to 1975) for magazines.
Primary Search (EBSCOhost) [1990-Present] This link opens in a new window
Content/Description: Provides full text magazines with reading level indicators (Lexiles) for elementary school research.
Read it! This link opens in a new window
Subject: Education, Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Contains resources, articles and quizzes that promote grammar and reading comprehension for elementary and middle schoolers. Also offers resources to help build background knowledge, conduct research and improve study skills.