Research Guides: THEA 301 Western Theatre History I: Articles

Other Options

You can always start your article search in Hope Primo, as this covers a wide range of our article holdings, particularly digital. These results will be broad and sometimes messy, so consider narrowing down using "Tweak your results."

For subject-specific databases, if you are not having luck in IBTD or MLA Bibliography, here are a couple of other places to try. Those of you with Greek plays may want to consider this, as MLA Bibliography is not quite as strong in this area.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-text article archive. Though less exhaustive than MLA, it is strong in classics journals.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Subject: History
Content/Description: Contains bibliographic entries and full-text links to journal articles and books about the period A.D. 400-1700.
Année philologique This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles and other writings on ancient Greek and Latin language and linguistics as well as Greek and Roman history, literature, philosophy, and related subjects. This will be good for Greek plays.
World Shakespeare Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A fairly exhaustive bibliography of research on Shakespeare. It also includes basic descriptive information of 20th and 21st century productions. This one is kind of clunky, so make an appointment with Jessica or another librarian if you want help with this!

Discipline Databases

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject: Theatre, Dance
Content/Description: Contains annotated bibliographies linking to full-text documents for articles, reviews, books, and dissertation abstracts on global theatre and performance, created by the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Literature, Humanities
Content/Description: Citations from journals, series, and book publishers. Covers literature and cricitism, language and linguistics, folklore, dramatic arts, historical printing and publishing, rhetoric, composition, and language/literature instruction.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance and MLA Bibliography are two tools for locating scholarly material on plays, In them, you will find citations for scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations. International Bibliography also has a lot of popular press materials, particularly focused on production reviews.

Tips for Searching

A good place to start your search is with the name of the playwrite and the play. Since these are international databases, you might also want to limit your results to English language (you can also limit by language in the search results in the right-hand menu).
Was your play originally written in another language? You may want to include both the original language title and the English language title to make sure you are seeing everything. (image)
MLA (and IBTD partially) just has the citations for articles and books, so if you see something you are interested in, use the "Find Full Text" link to check and see if we own it. If it is something we don't have, you can use the "InterLibrary Loan" link to order it from another library. Please allow 1-2 weeks for these to arrive.
Having difficulty figuring out how to locate an article you found in a database? Stop by and ask at the Research Help Desk or email the citation to hronchek@hope.edu. I'm happy to help find it!