Research Guides: THEA 302: Theatre History II: Articles

Other Options

If you are not having luck in International Bibliography or MLA Bibliography, or are interested in researching the broader historical context, here are a few other resources to try.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description:Includes articles, books, reviews and other sources. "Data for Research" provides interactive content. "Workspace" saves and shares sources. "Text Analyzer" searches for sources with user documents. "Understanding Series" provides sources quoting selected text.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Subject: History
Content/Description: Provides scholarly journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Subject: History
Content/Description: Covers the world's scholarly literature by providing journal articles and book excerpts on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada as far back as 1910.

Discipline Databases

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject: Theatre, Dance
Content/Description: Contains annotated bibliographies linking to full-text documents for articles, reviews, books, and dissertation abstracts on global theatre and performance, created by the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Literature, Humanities
Content/Description: Citations from journals, series, and book publishers. Covers literature and cricitism, language and linguistics, folklore, dramatic arts, historical printing and publishing, rhetoric, composition, and language/literature instruction.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance and MLA Bibliography are two tools for locating scholarly material on plays, In them, you will find citations for scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations. International Bibliography also has a lot of popular press materials, particularly focused on production reviews.

Tips for Searching

A good place to start your search is with the name of the playwrite and the play. Since these are international databases, you might also want to limit your results to English language (you can also limit by language in the search results in the right-hand menu).
Was your play originally written in another language? You may want to include both the original language title and the English language title to make sure you are seeing everything. (image)
MLA (and IBTD partially) just has the citations for articles and books, so if you see something you are interested in, use the "Find Full Text" link to check and see if we own it. If it is something we don't have, you can use the "InterLibrary Loan" link to order it from another library. Please allow 1-2 weeks for these to arrive.
Having difficulty figuring out how to locate an article you found in a database? Stop by and ask at the Research Help Desk or email the citation to hronchek@hope.edu. I'm happy to help find it!