Website Creation: An exploration of content management platforms: Campus Resources

The Library has a subscription to Lynda.com for tutorials and training modules. Accounts are available on a 2 week rotation.

Contact the techlab for additional information and to get set up with an account.

This website is put out by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. It provides great resources for thinking about user design, content management, project management, and lots of other resources for creating great websites.

CodeAcademy is a hands-on learning site that guides the learner through a series of tasks to learn code. Some of their most useful and highly ranked classes are HTML, CSS, and Javascript—important coding languages for creating a website. This tool is helpful for hands-on learners to gain important skills for creating well designed webpages.  

Khan Academy is an online learning website that specializes in a variety of different topics.  While they have many classes that are geared towards high school, middle school, and college prep, they also offer classes that are specifically designed for web design. Their classes range from an “hour of coding” to longer more in-depth courses. The classes are designed for non-coders or new users.  The hands-on and user friendly interface is an effective learning tool.

This website is a great resource for choosing color combinations for websites. The color pallet provides a guide for choosing colors in a variety of styles that complement each other and could be resourceful for building a website. Graphic designers and website designers often utilize this tool or others like it to visualize color schemes for webpages or artwork.  This resource is particularly beneficial for web designers that need help choosing a visually pleasing color scheme for their web page.

W3C HTML Validator is an experimental tool for creating valid HTML.  Although this resource is still experimental and the code is improving, it can be a helpful resource for web designers. The tool provides a box to insert HTML code and runs it for validity.  The site then provides a list of errors where the code failed to execute.  Included in this list is an assessment of the handicap accessibility of the code.  The validator then provides the location and the type of error to improve your code and your site.  

W3School is a great resource for someone who already knows web design code, but needs assistance with a specific question. This site provides a list of elements and selectors and gives visual demonstrations of what they do.  Additionally, the site provides a list of CSS selectors for creating appealing websites. This tool is beneficial for the web designer who needs to look up a specific element or selector for their design.

This resources contains information about choosing colors that compliment each other and are best practice for web design. This resource is particularly beneficial for understanding color relationships and it also contains website specific resources towards the bottom of the page.

The HTML Tutorial & Training Resources includes a list of accessible HTML and CSS training tools and resources to learn how to code.