It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Please note: Off-campus access to many library resources is temporarily unavailable. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Science Fiction and Fantasy: Databases / Journals
This is the main portal to databases and other library sources for science fiction and fantasy research at Van Wylen Library, Hope College.
"The Eaton Journal of Archival Research in Science Fiction is an online, peer-reviewed journal edited by graduate students. The Eaton Journal is published by the College of Humanities Arts and Social Sciences and the Eaton Science Fiction and Fantasy Collection of the Libraries of the University of California, Riverside."
"The popular culture movement was founded on the principle that the perspectives and experiences of common folk offer compelling insights into the social world. The fabric of human social life is not merely the art deemed worthy to hang in museums, the books that have won literary prizes or been named “classics,” or the religious and social ceremonies carried out by societies’ elite. The Journal of Popular Culture continues to break down the barriers between so-called “low” and “high” culture and focuses on filling in the gaps that a neglect of popular culture has left in our understanding of the workings of society."
"Science Fiction Film and Television is a biannual, peer-reviewed journal published by Liverpool University Press. Edited by Mark Bould (UWE) and Sherryl Vint (Brock University), with an international board of advisory editors, it encourages dialogue among the scholarly and intellectual communities of film studies, sf studies and television studies."
Subject: The Humanities Content/Description: Provides access to journal articles in the Arts, Humanities, Language (including Linguistics), Poetry, Music, Dance, History, Philosophy, Archaeology, Architecture, Religion, Film, Theater, and Radio.
Subject: Interdisciplinary Content/Description: Search the open web for scholarly articles, books and book previews, theses, and abstracts. Access to some full-text articles may not be available from off-campus. Please contact a librarian for access issues.
Subject: Interdisciplinary Content/Description:Includes articles, books, reviews and other sources. "Data for Research" provides interactive content. "Workspace" saves and shares sources. "Text Analyzer" searches for sources with user documents. "Understanding Series" provides sources quoting selected text.
Subject: English, Literature, Humanities Content/Description: Contains full-text literery criticism articles, books, essays, interviews, reviews and excerpts covering periods from classical to contemporary and includes American, British, and world literature.
A full-text, searchable database of Gale's Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, v.1(1988)-v.110(2009); Contemporary Literary Criticism, v.1(1973)-v.271(2009); Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, v.1(1984)-v.162(2009); Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, v.1(1981)-v.210(2009); Shakespearean Criticism; v.1(1984)-v.120(2009);
and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, v.1(1978)-v.217(2009)
Subject: Psychology Content/Description: Provides access to journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and reports. Please Note: Dissertations and books comprise 20% of the citations in this database. To limit your search results to journal articles from your search results, select this limit for scholarly journal articles.
Coverage: 1806 - present