Skip to main content
Hope Library Guides

Faculty Bibliography: 2018

The Faculty Bibliography is intended to reflect the complete record of scholarship, publication and creative performance by Hope College faculty in a given year. It includes citations to books, book chapters, articles, presentations, and performances.

Biology

Gallo-Ebert, Christina, Jamie Francisco, Hsing-Yin Liu, Riley Draper, Kinnari Modi, Michael D. Hayward, Beverly K. Jones, Olesia Buiakova, Virginia McDonough, and Joseph T. Nickels. “Mice Lacking ARV1 Have Reduced Signs of Metabolic Syndrome and Non-Alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease.” Journal of Biological Chemistry 293, no. 16 (April 20, 2018): 5956–74. https://doi.org/10.1074/jbc.RA117.000800.

Kunkler, Bryan, Daniel Salamango, Zachary J. DeBruine, Caitlin Ploch, Shirley Dean, David Grossens, Michael P. Hledin … Maria A. Burnatowska-Hledin. “CUL5 Is Required for Thalidomide-Dependent Inhibition of Cellular Proliferation.” PLOS ONE 13, no. 5 (May 10, 2018): e0196760. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0196760.

Li Jianhua, Murray K. Gregory, Li Pan, and Brown Kenneth. “Differential Diversifications of South American and Eastern Asian Disjunct Genera Bocconia and Macleaya (Papaveraceae).” Journal of Systematics and Evolution 56, no. 1 (January 10, 2018): 25–34. https://doi.org/10.1111/jse.12286.

Lu, Li-Min, Ling-Feng Mao, Tuo Yang, Jian-Fei Ye, Bing Liu, Hong-Lei Li, Miao Sun, … Jian-Hua Li, et al. “Evolutionary History of the Angiosperm Flora of China.” Nature 554, no. 7691 (February 2018): 234–38. https://doi.org/10.1038/nature25485.

Niu, Yan-Ting, Jian-Fei Ye, Jin-Long Zhang, Ji-Zhong Wan, Tuo Yang, Xiao-Xin Wei, Li-Min Lu, Jian-Hua Li, and Zhi-Duan Chen. “Long-Distance Dispersal or Postglacial Contraction? Insights into Disjunction between Himalaya–Hengduan Mountains and Taiwan in a Cold-Adapted Herbaceous Genus, Triplostegia.” Ecology and Evolution 8, no. 2 (January 1, 2018): 1131–46. https://doi.org/10.1002/ece3.3719.

Potter, H., E. Alenciks, K. Frazier, A. Porter, and G. S. Fraley. “Immunolesion of Melanopsin Neurons Causes Gonadal Regression in Pekin Drakes (Anas Platyrhynchos Domesticus).” General and Comparative Endocrinology 256 (January 15, 2018): 16–22. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ygcen.2017.08.006.

Ubels, John L., Randall J. DeJong, Brittany Hoolsema, Amy Wurzberger, Thuy-Tien Nguyen, Harvey D. Blankespoor, and Curtis L. Blankespoor. “Impairment of Retinal Function in Yellow Perch (Perca Flavescens) by Diplostomum Baeri Metacercariae.” International Journal for Parasitology: Parasites and Wildlife 7, no. 2 (August 1, 2018): 171–79. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ijppaw.2018.05.001.

Vollbrecht, Peter J., Kathryn M. Nesbitt, Omar S. Mabrouk, Aaron M. Chadderdon, Emily M. Jutkiewicz, Robert T. Kennedy, and Carrie R. Ferrario. “Cocaine and Desipramine Elicit Distinct Striatal Noradrenergic and Behavioral Responses in Selectively Bred Obesity-Resistant and Obesity-Prone Rats.” Behavioural Brain Research 346 (2018): 137–43. http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.bbr.2017.11.009.

Yang, Tuo, Li-Min Lu, Wei Wang, Jian-Hua Li, Steven R. Manchester, Jun Wen, and Zhi-Duan Chen. “Boreotropical Range Expansion and Long-Distance Dispersal Explain Two Amphi-Pacific Tropical Disjunctions in Sabiaceae.” Molecular Phylogenetics and Evolution 124 (July 1, 2018): 181–91. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ympev.2018.03.005.

Zhu, Junyi, Lifan Zhang, Baoqing Ren, Min Chen, Ruiqi Li, You Zhou, Yu Liang, Jianhua Li, and Zhiduan Chen. “Comparative Flower and Inflorescence Organogenesis among Genera of Betulaceae: Implications for Phylogenetic Relationships.” The Botanical Review 84, no. 1 (March 1, 2018): 79–98. https://doi.org/10.1007/s12229-017-9195-0.

Center for Ministry Studies

Taylor, Derek W. “Bonhoeffer and the Benedict Option: The Mission of Monasticism in a Post-Christian World.” Ecclesiology 14, no. 1 (January 20, 2018): 11–31. https://doi.org/10.1163/17455316-01401003.

Chemistry

Curran, Timothy, Joanne Stewart, Lauren Davidson, Niranjana Pokharel, Josephine Frempong, Michael Phillip, and Cosmic Gober. “Synthesis and Conformational Analysis of Peptides Linked to a Rigid, Bimetallic Ring System Using Aromatic Spacers.” Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society 255 (March 18, 2018).

Curran, Timothy, Joanne Stewart, Paul Handali, and Joseph Sanderson-Brown. “Peptides Linked via a Methyleneamine Linker to a Rigid, Bimetallic Ring System as a Possible Model System for Beta-Sheet Formation.” Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society 255 (March 18, 2018).

Curran, Timothy, Joanne Stewart, Thanh Nguyen, and Josephine Frempong. “Intramolecular Hydrogen Bonding between Peptide Strands Directed by a Rigid, Bimetallic Ring System.” Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society 255 (March 18, 2018).

Eckermann, Amanda, Lyndsy Miller, Carmen Chamberlain, Vanessa Drust, and Cydney Davenport. “Synthesis and Characterization of Hydrophobic [(Eta 6-Arene)Ru(L)Cl2 Complexes.” Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society 255 (March 18, 2018).

Eckermann, Amanda, Anna Washburn, and Karissa Libson. “Synthesis and Leaching of Strontium-Doped Hydroxyapatite.” Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society 255 (March 18, 2018).

Fuller, Amelia A., Jason G. Gillmore, and Craig A. Ogilvie. “Chapter 6. Resourcing, Scalability, and Sustainability of CUREs.” In Expanding the CURE Model:Course-Based Undergraduate Research Experience, edited by Rory Waterman and Jen Heemstra. Tucson, Arizona: Research Corporation for Science Advancement, 2018. http://rescorp.org/gdresources/publications/Expanding-the-CURE-Model.pdf.

Kunkler, Bryan, Daniel Salamango, Zachary J. DeBruine, Caitlin Ploch, Shirley Dean, David Grossens, Michael P. Hledin … Maria A. Burnatowska-Hledin. “CUL5 Is Required for Thalidomide-Dependent Inhibition of Cellular Proliferation.” PLOS ONE 13, no. 5 (May 10, 2018): e0196760. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0196760.

Reisner, Barbara, and Joanne Stewart. “The IONiC/VIPEr Grand Experiment in Teaching Inorganic Chemistry: Come Join Us!” Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society 255 (March 18, 2018).

Srinivasan, Shalini, Barbara A. Reisner, Sheila R. Smith, Joanne L. Stewart, Adam R. Johnson, Shirley Lin, Keith A. Marek, Chip Nataro, Kristen L. Murphy, and Jeffrey R. Raker. “Historical Analysis of the Inorganic Chemistry Curriculum Using ACS Examinations as Artifacts.” Journal of Chemical Education 95, no. 5 (May 8, 2018): 726–33. https://doi.org/10.1021/acs.jchemed.7b00803.

Stewart, Joanne L. “The PoWEr (Polonium, Tungsten, Erbium) of Learning in Community – GLCA/GLAA.” GLCA/GLAA Consortium for Teaching and Learning (CTL), Mrach 2018. http://glcateachlearn.org/2018/03/12/the-power-polonium-tungsten-erbium-of-learning-in-community/.

Watson, Lori, Chip Nataro, Anne Bentley, Hilary Eppley, Elizabeth Jamieson, Adam Johnson, Jeffrey Raker … Joanne Stewart, et al. “IONiC VIPEr: Slithering to the next Stage of Improving the Teaching and Learning of Inorganic Chemistry.” Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society 255 (March 18, 2018).

Communication

Dibble, Jayson L. “It’s More Than Self-Presentation: MUM Effects Can Reflect Private Discomfort and Concern for the Recipient.” Communication Research Reports 35, no. 2 (March 15, 2018): 112–20. https://doi.org/10.1080/08824096.2017.1398078.

Dibble, Jayson L., Narissra M. Punyanunt-Carter, and Michelle Drouin. “Maintaining Relationship Alternatives Electronically: Positive Relationship Maintenance in Back Burner Relationships.” Communication Research Reports 35, no. 3 (May 27, 2018): 200–209. https://doi.org/10.1080/08824096.2018.1425985.

Hearit, Lauren Berkshire. “JPMorgan Chase, Bank of America, Wells Fargo, and the Financial Crisis of 2008.” International Journal of Business Communication 55, no. 2 (April 1, 2018): 237–60. https://doi.org/10.1177/2329488417753952.

Martinez, Emilly K., Lauren Berkshire Hearit, Devika Banerji, Patricia E. Gettings, and Patrice M. Buzzanell. “Raising Awareness of Campus Diversity and Inclusion: Transformationally Teaching Diversity through Narratives of Campus Experiences and Simulated Problem Solving.” Communication Teacher 32, no. 1 (January 2, 2018): 19–24. https://doi.org/10.1080/17404622.2017.1372618.

Computer Science

Cusack, Charles A., Mark Powers, and Airat Bekmetjev. “Doppelgangers and Lemke Graphs.” Discrete Mathematics 341, no. 10 (October 1, 2018): 2686–93. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.disc.2018.06.028.

Dance

Yetzke, Angela, and Alicia Chesser. “How to Move the Truth #1.” presented at the Exchange Choreography Festival 2018, Tulsa, Oklahoma, 2018.

Yetzke, Angela. “I Make Myself Your Door.” presented at the Dance and the Child International 2018, Adelaide, Australia, 2018.

Yetzke, Angela, and Nicole Flinn. “Sketches.” presented at the Dance and the Child International 2018, Adelaide, Australia, 2018.

Economics and Business

Anderson, Michael A., Martin Davies, Jose E. Signoret, and Stephen L. S. Smith. “Firm Heterogeneity, Imported Input Quality, and Export Pricing in India.” Global Economy Journal 18, no. 2 (2018). https://doi.org/10.1515/gej-2018-0034.

Estelle, Sarah M., and David C. Phillips. “Smart Sentencing Guidelines: The Effect of Marginal Policy Changes on Recidivism.” Journal of Public Economics 164 (August 1, 2018): 270–93. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jpubeco.2018.05.004.

Fila, Marcus J., and Erin Eatough. “Extending Knowledge of Illegitimate Tasks: Student Satisfaction, Anxiety, and Emotional Exhaustion.” Stress and Health 34, no. 1 (February 1, 2018): 152–62. https://doi.org/10.1002/smi.2768.

Graves, Jennifer, Steven McMullen, and Kathryn Rouse. “Teacher Turnover, Composition and Qualifications in the Year-Round School Setting.” The B.E. Journal of Economic Analysis & Policy 18, no. 3 (2018). https://doi.org/10.1515/bejeap-2017-0240.

Education

Holmes, V. L., K. Spence, J. E. Finn, and S McGee Ingram. Now I Can Understand Algebra! New York: North American Linus Publications, 2018.

Hwang, Yooyeun, Joel R. Levin, and Evan W. Johnson. “Pictorial Mnemonic-Strategy Interventions for Children with Special Needs: Illustration of a Multiply Randomized Single-Case Crossover Design.” Developmental Neurorehabilitation 21, no. 4 (May 19, 2018): 223–37. https://doi.org/10.3109/17518423.2015.1100689.

Engineering

Brill, N. A., S. N. Naufel, K. Polasek, C. Ethier, J. Cheesborough, S. Agnew, L. E. Miller, and D. J. Tyler. “Evaluation of High-Density, Multi-Contact Nerve Cuffs for Activation of Grasp Muscles in Monkeys.” Journal of Neural Engineering 15, no. 3 (2018): 036003. https://doi.org/10.1088/1741-2552/aa8735.

Gaines, Jessica L., Kathleen E. Finn, Julia P. Slopsema, Lane A. Heyboer, and Katharine H. Polasek. “A Model of Motor and Sensory Axon Activation in the Median Nerve Using Surface Electrical Stimulation.” Journal of Computational Neuroscience 45, no. 1 (August 1, 2018): 29–43. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10827-018-0689-5.

Slopsema, Julia P., John M. Boss, Lane A. Heyboer, Carson M. Tobias, Brooke P. Draggoo, Kathleen E. Finn, Payton J. Hoff, and Katharine H. Polasek. “Natural Sensations Evoked in Distal Extremities Using Surface Electrical Stimulation.” The Open Biomedical Engineering Journal 12, no. 1 (January 29, 2018). https://doi.org/10.2174/1874120701812010001.

English

Parker, Kendra R. “The Things That Fly in the Night: Female Vampires in Literature of the Circum-Caribbean and African Diaspora.” Papers on Language and Literature54, no. 3 (SUM 2018): 296–301.

History

Johnson III, Fred L. “Jefferson Davis’s Final Campaign: Confederate Nationalism and the Fight to Arm Slaves.” Journal of Military History 82, no. 3 (July 2018): 957–58.

Petit, Jeanne. “FORMING MORAL WOMEN AND MEN - Andrea L. Turpin A New Moral Vision: Gender, Religion, and the Changing Purposes of American Higher Education, 1837–1917. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 2016. Xi + 352 Pp. $49.94 (Cloth), ISBN 978-1-5017-0478-9.” The Journal of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era 17, no. 1 (January 2018): 204–6. https://doi.org/10.1017/S1537781417000676.

Tan, Wei Yu Wayne. “Curative Violence: Rehabilitating Disability, Gender, and Sexuality in Modern Korea.” Acta Koreana 21, no. 1 (June 2018): 366–69.

Kinesiology

Carlson, Chad. “Game Spirituality: How Games Tell Us More than We Might Think.” Sport, Ethics and Philosophy 12, no. 1 (January 2, 2018): 81–93. https://doi.org/10.1080/17511321.2017.1300603.

Morrison, Kyle M., John Cairney, Joe Eisenmann, Karin Pfeiffer, and Dan Gould. “Associations of Body Mass Index, Motor Performance, and Perceived Athletic Competence with Physical Activity in Normal Weight and Overweight Children.” Journal of Obesity, 2018. https://doi.org/10.1155/2018/3598321.

Romero, Manuel G., Pitney William A., Kirk Brumels, and Stephanie M. Mazerolle. “Role Strain, Part 1: Experiences of Athletic Trainers Employed in the Professional Sports Setting.” Journal of Athletic Training 53, no. 2 (January 19, 2018): 184–89. https://doi.org/10.4085/1062-6050-213-16.

Romero, Manuel G., William A. Pitney, Stephanie M. Mazerolle, and Kirk Brumels. “Role Strain, Part 2: Perceptions Among Athletic Trainers Employed in the Professional Practice Setting.” Journal of Athletic Training 53, no. 2 (January 19, 2018): 190–201. https://doi.org/10.4085/1062-6050-214-16.

Libraries and Archives

Hronchek, Jessica, Grace Haynes, and Kathy De Mey. “Something Creative Here: An Arts-Informed Discussion of Sustainability in Academic Libraries.” presented at the Michigan Academic Libraries Association Annual Conference, Lansing, MI, May 18, 2018. https://digitalcommons.hope.edu/faculty_presentations/187.

Wiebe, Todd J. “Book Review: Street Style in America: An Exploration.” Reference & User Services Quarterly 57, no. 4 (June 15, 2018): 305–6. https://doi.org/10.5860/rusq.57.4.6721.

Mathematics

Cusack, Charles A., Mark Powers, and Airat Bekmetjev. “Doppelgangers and Lemke Graphs.” Discrete Mathematics 341, no. 10 (October 1, 2018): 2686–93. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.disc.2018.06.028.

Gonthier, Peter L., Alice K. Harding, Elizabeth C. Ferrara, Sara E. Frederick, Victoria E. Mohr, and Yew-Meng Koh. “Population Syntheses of Millisecond Pulsars from the Galactic Disk and Bulge.” The Astrophysical Journal 863, no. 2 (2018): 199. https://doi.org/10.3847/1538-4357/aad08d.

Holmes, V .L., K. Spence, J. E. Finn, and S McGee Ingram. Now I Can Understand Algebra! New York: North American Linus Publications, 2018.

Koh, Yew-Meng, Reagan Spindler, Matthew Sandgren, and Jiyi Jiang. “A Model Comparison Algorithm for Increased Forecast Accuracy of Dengue Fever Incidence in Singapore and the Auxiliary Role of Total Precipitation Information.” International Journal of Environmental Health Research 28, no. 5 (September 3, 2018): 535–52. https://doi.org/10.1080/09603123.2018.1496234.

Mann, Eric L. “How to Lie with Statistics.” In Teaching Gifted Children: Success Strategies for Teaching High-Ability Learners, edited by Jeff Danielian, C. Matthew Fugate, and Elizabeth Fogarty, 197–200. Waco, Texas: Prufrock Press, 2018.

Mann, Eric L. “Thinking like a Mathematician.” In Teaching Gifted Children: Success Strategies for Teaching High-Ability Learners, edited by Jeff Danielian, C. Matthew Fugate, and Elizabeth Fogarty, 185–88. Waco, Texas: Prufrock Press, 2018.

Tintle, Nathan, Jake Clark, Karen Fischer, Beth Chance, George Cobb, Soma Roy, Todd Swanson, and Jill VanderStoep. “Assessing the Association Between Precourse Metrics of Student Preparation and Student Performance in Introductory Statistics: Results from Early Data on Simulation-Based Inference vs. Nonsimulation-Based Inference.” Journal of Statistics Education 26, no. 2 (May 4, 2018): 103–9. https://doi.org/10.1080/10691898.2018.1473061.

Yurk, Brian P., and Christina A. Cobbold. “Homogenization Techniques for Population Dynamics in Strongly Heterogeneous Landscapes.” Journal of Biological Dynamics 12, no. 1 (January 1, 2018): 171–93. https://doi.org/10.1080/17513758.2017.1410238.

Yurk, Brian P. “Homogenization Analysis of Invasion Dynamics in Heterogeneous Landscapes with Differential Bias and Motility.” Journal of Mathematical Biology 77, no. 1 (July 1, 2018): 27–54. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00285-017-1186-6.

Modern and Classical Languages

Larsen, Anne R. “Martine van Elk . Early Modern Women’s Writing: Domesticity, Privacy, and the Public Sphere in England and the Dutch Republic. Early Modern Literature in History. London: Palgrave Macmillan, 2017. Pp. 299. $79.99 (Cloth).” Journal of British Studies 57, no. 2 (April 2018): 395–97. https://doi.org/10.1017/jbr.2018.21.

Larsen, Anne R. “Sin and Salvation in Early Modern France: Three Women’s Stories by Marguerite D’Auge, Renée Burlamacchi, and Jeanne Du Laurens (Review).” Early Modern Women 12, no. 2 (June 6, 2018): 280–82. https://doi.org/10.1353/emw.2018.0039.

Larsen, Anne R. “Women Writers of the Eighteenth Century: New Critical Approaches.” French Review 91, no. 3 (March 2018): 212–13.

Nursing

Bouws, Melissa. “The Nursing Dean Role: An Integrative Review.” Nursing Education Perspectives 39, no. 2 (March 1, 2018): 80–84. https://doi.org/10.1097/01.NEP.0000000000000277.

Philosophy

Laporte, Joseph F. “Epistemological Matters Matter for Theological Understanding.” In Convergence: Essays on the Intersection between Philosophy and Theology, edited by Daniel J. Fick and Jesse K. Mileo. Eugene, Oregon: Wipf & Stock, 2018.

Physics

Gonthier, Peter L., Alice K. Harding, Elizabeth C. Ferrara, Sara E. Frederick, Victoria E. Mohr, and Yew-Meng Koh. “Population Syntheses of Millisecond Pulsars from the Galactic Disk and Bulge.” The Astrophysical Journal 863, no. 2 (2018): 199. https://doi.org/10.3847/1538-4357/aad08d.

Joffre, Scott, and Jennifer Hampton. “Comparing Electrochemical Calculations and Particle Induced X-Ray Emission Measurements of Prussian Blue Analogue Deposits.” Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society 255 (March 18, 2018).

Joffre, Scott, Amanda Rensmo, and Jennifer Hampton. “Characterization of Electrogenerated Hexacynoferrate Thin Films for Battery Applications.” Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society 255 (March 18, 2018).

Nair, Bindu G., Julie Ann Joseph, Z. T. Kellner, Vikash Sharma, S. K. Remillard, P. A. DeYoung, G. S. Okram, V. Ganesan, and Rachel Reena Philip. “Tin-Incorporated Nanostructured Copper Indium Oxide Delafossite Thin Films: Structural, Electrical and Optical Analysis.” Journal of Alloys and Compounds 746 (May 25, 2018): 435–44. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jallcom.2018.02.305.

Remillard, S. K., A. E. Wormmeester, and R. A. Huizen. “Local Whole-Device Scanning of Distortion in Superconducting Microwave Resonators.” IEEE Transactions on Applied Superconductivity 28, no. 4 (June 2018): 1–5. https://doi.org/10.1109/TASC.2018.2803124.

Rensmo, Amanda, and Jennifer Hampton. “Comparison of Charge Storage Properties of Prussian Blue Analogues Containing Copper and Cobalt.” Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society 255 (March 18, 2018).

Wadiasingh, Zorawar, Matthew G. Baring, Peter L. Gonthier, and Alice K. Harding. “Resonant Inverse Compton Scattering Spectra from Highly Magnetized Neutron Stars.” Astrophysical Journal 854, no. 2 (February 20, 2018): 98. https://doi.org/10.3847/1538-4357/aaa460.

Political Science

Ryden, David K, and Jeffrey Polet, eds. Church and State: Documents Decoded. Santa Barbara, California: ABC-CLIO, 2018.

Psychology

Cheadle, A. C. D., C. Dunkel Schetter, and The Community Child Health Network (CCHN). “Mastery, Self-Esteem, and Optimism Mediate the Link between Religiousness and Spirituality and Postpartum Depression.” Journal of Behavioral Medicine, May 31, 2018, 1–11. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10865-018-9941-8.

Cheadle, Alyssa C., and Andrew Gall. “Religiousness and Spirituality Predict Health Behaviors Throughout a Week.” Psychosomatic Medicine 80, no. 3 (April 2018): A58–A58.

Cheadle, Alyssa C., and Christine Dunkel Schetter. “Psychosocial Resources Mediate Associations of Religiousness and Spirituality with Depressive Symptoms in Mothers During the First Postpartum Year.” Psychosomatic Medicine 80, no. 3 (April 2018): A23–A23.

Davis, Don E., Cirleen DeBlaere, Jesse Owen, Joshua N. Hook, David P. Rivera, Elise Choe, D. R. Van Tongeren, Everett L. Worthington, and Vanessa Placeres. “The Multicultural Orientation Framework: A Narrative Review.” Psychotherapy 55, no. 1 (March 2018): 89–100. https://doi.org/10.1037/pst0000160.

Dispenza, Franco, Edward B. Davis, Stacey E. McElroy-Heltzel, Don E. Davis, Melissa Zeligman, Jamie D. Aten, Jenny Hwang, Daryl R. Van Tongeren, and Joshua N. Hook. “Religious Factors and Global Meaning Violation in Louisiana Flood Survivors.” Traumatology: An International Journal, July 26, 2018. https://doi.org/10.1037/trm0000166.

Dwiwardani, Carissa, Anna S. Ord, Matthew Fennell, Dorianne Eaves, Jennifer S. Ripley, Amber Perkins, James Sells … Daryl R. Van Tongeren, et al. “Spelling HUMBLE with U and ME: The Role of Perceived Humility in Intimate Partner Relationships.” The Journal of Positive Psychology 13, no. 5 (September 3, 2018): 449–59. https://doi.org/10.1080/17439760.2017.1291849.

Farrell, Jennifer E., Joshua N. Hook, Hansong Zhang, David Mosher, Jamie D. Aten, Daryl R. Van Tongeren, and Don E. Davis. “Religious Attitudes and Behaviors toward Individuals Who Hold Different Religious Beliefs and Perspectives: An Exploratory Qualitative Study.” Psychology of Religion and Spirituality 10, no. 1 (February 2018): 63–71. http://dx.doi.org/10.1037/rel0000143.

Haggard, Megan, Wade C. Rowatt, Joseph C. Leman, Benjamin Meagher, Courtney Moore, Thomas Fergus, Dennis Whitcomb, Heather Battaly, Jason Baehr, and Dan Howard-Snyder. “Finding Middle Ground between Intellectual Arrogance and Intellectual Servility: Development and Assessment of the Limitations-Owning Intellectual Humility Scale.” Personality and Individual Differences 124 (April 1, 2018): 184–93. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.paid.2017.12.014.

Julian, Melissa, Alyssa C. D. Cheadle, Olivia Jurkiewicz, Robert M. Bilder, Kendra S. Knudsen, and Christine Dunkel Schetter. “Resilience Resources Scale (Rrs): A New Resilience Scale for Use in Young Adults.” Psychosomatic Medicine 80, no. 3 (April 2018): A25–A25.

Merçon-Vargas, Elisa A., Katelyn E. Poelker, and Jonathan R. H. Tudge. “The Development of the Virtue of Gratitude: Theoretical Foundations and Cross-Cultural Issues.” Cross-Cultural Research 52, no. 1 (February 1, 2018): 3–18. https://doi.org/10.1177/1069397117736517.

Myers, David G., and C. Nathan DeWall. Myers’ Psychology for the AP® Course. Third edition. New York, New York: Bedford, Freeman & Worth, 2018.

Myers, David G., and Ed Diener. “The Scientific Pursuit of Happiness.” Perspectives on Psychological Science 13, no. 2 (March 1, 2018): 218–25. https://doi.org/10.1177/1745691618765171.

Poelker, Katelyn E., and Judith L. Gibbons. “Guatemalan Women Achieve Ideal Family Size: Empowerment through Education and Decision-Making.” Health Care for Women International 39, no. 2 (February 2018): 170–85. https://doi.org/10.1080/07399332.2017.1395028.

Poelker, Katelyn E., and Judith L. Gibbons. “The Development of Gratitude in Guatemalan Children and Adolescents.” Cross-Cultural Research 52, no. 1 (February 1, 2018): 44–57. https://doi.org/10.1177/1069397117736518.

Reid, Chelsea A., Everett L. Worthington Jr, Rachel C. Garthe, Don E. Davis, Joshua N. Hook, Daryl R. Van Tongeren, and Brandon J. Griffin. “Actor–partner Interdependence of Humility and Relationship Quality among Couples Transitioning to Parenthood.” The Journal of Positive Psychology 13, no. 2 (March 4, 2018): 122–32. https://doi.org/10.1080/17439760.2016.1233349.

Ripley, Jennifer S., Everett L. Worthington, Rachel C. Garthe, Don E. Davis, Joshua N. Hook, Chelsea A. Reid, Daryl R. Van Tongeren, et al. “Trait Forgiveness and Dyadic Adjustment Predict Postnatal Depression.” Journal of Child and Family Studies 27, no. 7 (July 1, 2018): 2185–92. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10826-018-1053-0.

Tongeren, Daryl R. Van, and Jeni L. Burnette. “Do You Believe Happiness Can Change? An Investigation of the Relationship between Happiness Mindsets, Well-Being, and Satisfaction.” The Journal of Positive Psychology 13, no. 2 (March 4, 2018): 101–9. https://doi.org/10.1080/17439760.2016.1257050.

Toussaint, Loren, Jr Everett L. Worthington, Daryl R. Van Tongeren, Joshua Hook, Jack W. Berry, Victoria A. Shivy, Andrea J. Miller, and Don E. Davis. “Forgiveness Working: Forgiveness, Health, and Productivity in the Workplace.” American Journal of Health Promotion 32, no. 1 (January 1, 2018): 59–67. https://doi.org/10.1177/0890117116662312.

Van Tongeren, Daryl R., C. Nathan DeWall, Jeffrey D. Green, Athena H. Cairo, Don E. Davis, and Joshua N. Hook. “Self-Regulation Facilitates Meaning in Life.” Review of General Psychology 22, no. 1 (March 2018): 95–106. http://dx.doi.org/10.1037/gpr0000121.

Van Tongeren Daryl R., and Green Jeffrey D. “Meaning and Death‐thought Accessibility.” British Journal of Social Psychology 57, no. 1 (January 5, 2018): 230–39. https://doi.org/10.1111/bjso.12212.

Van Tongeren, Daryl R., Mark Sanders, Megan Edwards, Edward B. Davis, Jamie D. Aten, Jennifer M. Ranter, Angela Tsarouhis, et al. “Religious and Spiritual Struggles Alter God Representations.” Psychology of Religion and Spirituality, March 8, 2018, No Pagination Specified. http://dx.doi.org/10.1037/rel0000173.

Van Tongeren, Daryl R., Everett L. Worthington, Don E. Davis, Joshua N. Hook, Chelsea A. Reid, and Rachel C. Garthe. “Positive Religious Coping in Relationships Predicts Spiritual Growth Through Communication With the Sacred.” Psychology of Religion and Spirituality 10, no. 1 (February 2018): 55–62. https://doi.org/10.1037/rel0000120.

Van Tongeren, Daryl R., Don E. Davis, Joshua N. Hook, Wade Rowatt, and Everett L. Worthington. “Religious Differences in Reporting and Expressing Humility.” Psychology of Religion and Spirituality 10, no. 2 (May 2018): 174–84. http://dx.doi.org/10.1037/rel0000118.

Westbrook, Charles J., Don E. Davis, Stacey E. McElroy, Kacy Brubaker, Elise Choe, Sara Karaga, Matt Dooley, Brittany L. O’Bryant, Daryl R. Van Tongeren, and Joshua Hook. “Trait Sources of Spirituality Scale: Assessing Trait Spirituality More Inclusively.” Measurement and Evaluation in Counseling and Development 51, no. 2 (April 3, 2018): 125–38. https://doi.org/10.1080/07481756.2017.1358059.

Witvliet, Charlotte vanOyen, Fallon J. Richie, Lindsey M. Root Luna, and Daryl R. Van Tongeren. “Gratitude Predicts Hope and Happiness: A Two-Study Assessment of Traits and States.” The Journal of Positive Psychology 0, no. 0 (January 15, 2018): 1–12. https://doi.org/10.1080/17439760.2018.1424924.

Zhang, Hansong, Joshua N. Hook, Jennifer E. Farrell, David K. Mosher, Daryl R. Van Tongeren, and Don E. Davis. “The Effect of Religious Diversity on Religious Belonging and Meaning: The Role of Intellectual Humility.” Psychology of Religion and Spirituality 10, no. 1 (February 2018): 72–78. https://doi.org/10.1037/rel0000108.

Religion

Carpenter, Angela. “Exploitative Labor, Victimized Families, and the Promise of the Sabbath.” Journal of the Society of Christian Ethics 38, no. 1 (June 20, 2018): 77–94. https://doi.org/10.1353/sce.2018.0005.

Sociology and Social Work

Franzen, Aaron B. “Influence of Physicians’ Beliefs on Propensity to Include Religion/Spirituality in Patient Interactions.” Journal of Religion and Health 57, no. 4 (August 1, 2018): 1581–97. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10943-018-0638-7.