Research Guides: .English (General): Databases

Do We have this Article?

When you find a citation in a database that doesn't have the full text of the article included, look for these links:

full-text options or

Following these links will search our system to see if we have it available somewhere else. Be patient, sometimes you have to click through several links to get to the article!

Gale Literature Resources

The library has access to a variety of Gale literature resources through our print reference collection and digital products like Literature Criticism Online and Gale Virtual Reference Library. If you would like to see if an Author or Work of Literature is featured in any of these anthologies, you can search the Gale Literary Index by Author or Title.

Major Print Anthologies in 1st floor reference:

Databases

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Literature, Humanities
Content/Description: Citations from journals, series, and book publishers. Covers literature and cricitism, language and linguistics, folklore, dramatic arts, historical printing and publishing, rhetoric, composition, and language/literature instruction.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Subject: Humanities, Social Sciences
Content/Description: Contains full-text journals
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Includes articles, books, reviews and other sources. "Data for Research" provides interactive content. "Workspace" saves and shares sources. "Text Analyzer" searches for sources with user documents. "Understanding Series" provides sources quoting selected text.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject: Film
Content/Description: Provides full text journal articles, periodicals, books, and selected coverage of multiple publications. Includes a variety of movie reviews and an image collection from the MPTV Image Archive.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Subject: History
Content/Description: Contains bibliographic entries and full-text links to journal articles and books about the period A.D. 400-1700.
Please note: Iter is now available to search through the EBSCOhost interface.
Literature Criticism Online (LCO) This link opens in a new window
Subject: English, Literature, Humanities
Content/Description: Contains full-text literery criticism articles, books, essays, interviews, reviews and excerpts covering periods from classical to contemporary and includes American, British, and world literature.
A full-text, searchable database of Gale's Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, v.1(1988)-v.110(2009); Contemporary Literary Criticism, v.1(1973)-v.271(2009); Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, v.1(1984)-v.162(2009); Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, v.1(1981)-v.210(2009); Shakespearean Criticism; v.1(1984)-v.120(2009);
and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, v.1(1978)-v.217(2009)
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation index for all disciplines (1955-present)
World Shakespeare Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Subject: English, Theatre
Content/Description: Provides citations to scholarly and non-scholarly articles, books, book and production reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, and other materials related to Shakespeare.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Search the open web for scholarly articles, books and book previews, theses, and abstracts. Access to some full-text articles may not be available from off-campus. Please contact a librarian for access issues.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Contains digitized images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Subject: English, Literature, Humanities
Content/Description: Contains articles, books, essays, and videos concerning author biographies, plot summaries, and analyst reviews of literature.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Subject: Humanities
Content/Description: Provides featured articles, books, reviews, bibliographies, musicals and operas, dance programs, obituaries, interviews, and abstracts for scholarly sources in the humanities.

Need Help?

Van Wylen Library

Contact:

Get in touch with a librarian!