Research Guides: Ethnic / Multicultural Studies (General): Databases

Do We have this Article?

When you find a citation in a database that doesn't have the full text of the article included, look for these links:

full-text options or

Following these links will search our system to see if we have it available somewhere else. Be patient, sometimes you have to click through several links to get to the article!

Databases

Academic Search Complete (1867 to Present) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles, historical reviews, abstracts, and indexing from content as far back as 1867.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index to articles on American history, including the experiences of ethnic, immigrant, and other groups
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5 (1693-1912) This link opens in a new window
Subject: History
Content/Description: A collection of primary sources from American magazines and journals on history and culture from 1693 to 1912. Its magazine and journal articles and digitized images cover advertising, health, social and religious issues, science, and slavery.
Census Data (U.S. Census Bureau) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Provides economic and population-related data from the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes data regarding people and housing.
ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary & nbsp;
Content/Description: Indexes journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Subject: The Humanities
Content/Description: Provides access to journal articles in the Arts, Humanities, Language (including Linguistics), Poetry, Music, Dance, History, Philosophy, Archaeology, Architecture, Religion, Film, Theater, and Radio.
Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Contains full-text biographies from Biography magazines as well as narrative biographies.
Black Life in America (1976 to Present) This link opens in a new window
Content/Description: Contains full-text articles from media sources about Black Americans.
Caribbean Search This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Provides full-text content journals, magazines, newspapers, reports and reference books pertaining to the countries and people of the Caribbean.
Central & Eastern European Academic Source This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Provides full-text journal articles, periodicals, and book chapters related to central and eastern European countries. Includes articles on business, economics, medical sciences, political science, law, literature, linguistics, history, and sociology.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Subject: Communication
Content/Description: Contains scholarly journals, magazines, and discussions in the fields of mass media and communication
DemographicsNow: (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Provides demographic (population) data including income, housing, race, age, education, consumer expenditures, and businesses.
Please Note: Access to this resource will end on March 28, 2025
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Provides open access to peer-reviewed, scholarly journal articles covering a wide range of subjects.
Duke University Press Journals (e-Duke Scholarly Collection) This link opens in a new window
Content/Description: Fifty Duke humanities and social science journals.
Please note: This resource has been cancelled and no new content will be added after 6/30/2020
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: A collection of streaming film relating to the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Search the open web for scholarly articles, books and book previews, theses, and abstracts. Access to some full-text articles may not be available from off-campus. Please contact a librarian for access issues.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Subject: History
Content/Description: Provides scholarly journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Historical Census Volumes: Population and Housing (1790-Present) This link opens in a new window
Subject: History
Content/Description: Provides historical American population and housing information from The Census Bureau.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Subject: History
Content/Description: Provides full text content from books, journal articles, reviews, periodicals, historical documents, biographies, and photos from any historical period.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Subject: Humanities
Content/Description: Provides featured articles, books, reviews, bibliographies, musicals and operas, dance programs, obituaries, interviews, and abstracts for scholarly sources in the humanities.
Independent Voices (Reveal Digital) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Contains alternative press newspaper, magazine, and journal articles drawn from the special collections of participating libraries and produced by marginalized groups such as feminists, Native Americans, LGBT activists, Hispanics, and more during the last half of the 20th century.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) [1951-Present] This link opens in a new window
Subject: Political Science, Sociology, Social Work, Anthropology, Economics
Content/Description: Contains annotated bibliographies to journal articles, books, and reviews in over 100 languages and countries, focusing on the social sciences.
Jewish Studies Source This link opens in a new window
Subject: History, Religion
Content/Description: Contains articles and full-text documents from journals, periodicals and newspapers, monographs, and biographies of historical and contemporary Jewish people. Includes the Jewish Telegraphic Agency database from 1922 to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Includes articles, books, reviews and other sources. "Data for Research" provides interactive content. "Workspace" saves and shares sources. "Text Analyzer" searches for sources with user documents. "Understanding Series" provides sources quoting selected text.
MasterFILE Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Provides full-text articles, primary sources, reference books, videos, images, maps and flags for a variety of subjects (i.e. business, sciences, health and fitness, multicultural issues).
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Subject: Journalism
Content/Description: Contains full-text articles from regional, national, and international newspapers. Also includes full-text video and radio transcripts from CBS News, Fox News, NPR, etc.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online I-IV This link opens in a new window
Subject: History
Content/Description: Includes full-text documents and maps in collections I-IV: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; European Literature, 1790-1840.
OAIster This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Includes records of digitized books, articles and multimedia from open-archive collections worldwide.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Political Science, Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Provides access to primary sources, media, journal articles, and biographies that investigate viewpoints on various topics.
Political Science Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Political Science
Content/Description: Provides full text journals, abstracts, reference books, monographs, and conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Subject: Humanities, Social Sciences
Content/Description: Contains full-text journals
ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Subject: Social Sciences
Content/Description: Grants access to articles and media across 11 databases.
Referencia Latina This link opens in a new window
Subject: World Language & Cultures, Ethnic/Multicultural Studies, Humanities, Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Contains reference resources for Spanish speakers on topics relevant to Latin America, Spain, and the United States.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Provides access to full-text journals in a variety of subjects.
Slavery & Abolition, 1789-1887 This link opens in a new window
Subject: History
Content/Description: Access to historical journals that chronicle the African-American experience during the 19th century. Subjects include religion, literature, slavery, and abolition.
Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new window
Subject: Social Sciences
Content/Description: Contains abstracts on scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and holds an Electronic Paper Collection.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Subject: Sociology
Content/Description: Contains abstracts and citations covering the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Sociology Database (ProQuest) [1985-Present] This link opens in a new window
Subject: Sociology
Content/Description: Provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation index for all disciplines (1955-present)
Web of Science : Social Sciences Citation Index [1956-Present] This link opens in a new window
Subject: Psychology, Sociology, Economics, Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Provides citations for social science journals with accessible cited references.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Provides full-text journals on a variety of topics.

Need Help?

Van Wylen Library

Contact:

Get in touch with a librarian!