Stand on the shoulders of giants
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar can help you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research, and is best used as a supplement to discipline-specific scholarly indexes and databases.
To help facilitate access to the scholarly literature from Google Scholar, Van Wylen Library sends Google a file of our library holdings each week. These holdings are incorporated into Scholar search results through Library Links.
Researchers can also create Scholar Profiles to highlight their scholarly publications.
For on-campus users, Google Scholar results include links to either full text resources (via Full-Text @ Hope College) or links to Request It @ Hope College. The Request It link provides a quick way to submit interlibrary loan requests for items to which we do not have access, as well as quick access to an email help form (i.e. Report a Problem link).
Following are examples of results from Google Scholar:
If full text is not available, the (double arrow) icon will expand to provide options to request the item (e.g. Request it @ Hope College).
For users off-campus, their Google Scholar settings need to be edited to link to our holdings:
Users need to select the Settings link from the men () at the upper left of the search screen, select Library Links. then type Hope College. From the resulting list of libraries, please select Hope College Van Wylen Library - Full-Text @ Hope College.
What should you do if you created an account with credentials from another university or with your 1Hope account?