Research Guides: HIST 314 Modern Japan and Korea: Databases and Recommended Journals for Journal Articles

Library Databases

For finding scholarly journal articles, the databases that the library subscribes to are your best tools. Many provide full text electronic access to the articles right there. If not, they provide the complete citation so that you can track down the print article in our collection or through ILL.

All library subscription databases can be selected here:

https://libguides.hope.edu/az.php

Specific ones to Try

Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Subject: History
Content/Description: Provides scholarly journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Political Science Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Political Science
Content/Description: Provides full text journals, abstracts, reference books, monographs, and conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Includes articles, books, reviews and other sources. "Data for Research" provides interactive content. "Workspace" saves and shares sources. "Text Analyzer" searches for sources with user documents. "Understanding Series" provides sources quoting selected text.
America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Subject: History
Content/Description: Covers the world's scholarly literature by providing journal articles and book excerpts on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada as far back as 1910.

Potentially Useful Journals

Browse or search through these journals that are listed below.

These journals have been recognized as important resources in East Asian Studies.

More Potentially Useful Journals

Journal Finder

You can also search for journals that are related to your topic, then when you find a journal, you can then search through it for articles. Here's a couple examples of journal searches. You can also do your own custom searches in Journal Finder!

searching korea* in Journal Finder

searching Japan* in Journal Finder