Research Guides: IDS 172 Disability in Modern Societies (Disability Studies): Finding News Articles Online

Finding Newspapers (Hope Primo)

Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1949 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Google Historic Newspapers by name
Google News Archive Search provides an easy way to search and explore historical archives. Users can search for events, people or ideas and see how they have been described over time.

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Subject: Journalism
Content/Description: Contains full-text articles from regional, national, and international newspapers. Also includes full-text video and radio transcripts from CBS News, Fox News, NPR, etc.
New York Times Academic Pass This link opens in a new window
Subject: Journalism
Content/Description: Provides unlimited access to NYTimes.com and its mobile apps.
For more information or to get help registering, view our guide. Once you've created a NY Times account, log in for additional features
Wall Street Journal Digital Edition Academic Pass This link opens in a new window
Subject: Journalism, Communication, Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Grants access to WSJ.com and mobile apps.
Please note:For more information or to get help registering, view our guide. You must register as a user with your Hope email before accessing content.

Chicago Tribune (ProQuest) 1849-1999 This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Provides full-text newspaper articles from the Chicago Tribune from 1849-1998.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) [1851-2020] This link opens in a new window
Subject: History, Journalism
Content/Description: Contains full-text articles from the New York Times newspaper.
London Times Digital Archive (Gale) [1785-2019] This link opens in a new window
Subject: History, Journalism, Communication
Content/Description: Contains the London Times' comprehensive published content (i.e. articles, editorials, letters to the editor, reports, advertisements, obituaries, reviews) spanning the length of its operation.

Anchor Online Archive (1887-2024) This link opens in a new window
strong>Subject: Interdisiplinary
Content/Description: Provides articles from Hope's student newpaper, the Anchor.
Holland City News This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Provides newspaper articles published in Holland, Michigan for the English-speaking people in the area.
Ottawa County Times This link opens in a new window
Content/Description: Weekly Democratic newspaper published in Holland, Michigan.
Coverage: 1892-1905