Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Learn how to use History Databases Tutorial
Learn how to use Historical Abstracts and America: History & Life databases and their features.
JSTOR is a great multi-disciplinary database, however, its name stands for Journal Storage, and thus it is not the best place for the most up-to-date current scholarship.
Learn how to use ATLA and its features
All Hope College Databases Here (Disability Studies is Interdisciplinary!)
Specific Databases to Try
Content/Description:Includes articles, books, reviews and other sources. "Data for Research" provides interactive content. "Workspace" saves and shares sources. "Text Analyzer" searches for sources with user documents. "Understanding Series" provides sources quoting selected text.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Content/Description: Provides scholarly journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO)
Content/Description: Covers the world's scholarly literature by providing journal articles and book excerpts on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada as far back as 1910.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost)
Subject: Literature, Humanities
Content/Description: Citations from journals, series, and book publishers. Covers literature and cricitism, language and linguistics, folklore, dramatic arts, historical printing and publishing, rhetoric, composition, and language/literature instruction.
Content/Description: Contains full-text scholarly articles and video.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
Subject: Religion and Theology
Content/Description: Provides journal articles and book excerpts on religious and theological studies.
ProQuest Social Sciences
Subject: Social Sciences
Content/Description: Grants access to articles and media across 11 databases.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (scholar's edition)
Subject: History, Political Science, Women and Gender Studies
Content/Description: Contains full-text primary documents, archive notes, books, film and website reviews, and teaching tools with archives.
APA PsycInfo (1806-present) Subject:
Provides access to journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and reports.
Dissertations and books comprise 20% of the citations in this database. To limit your search results to journal articles from your search results, select this limit for scholarly journal articles
Coverage: 1806 - present
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Subject: Humanities, Social Sciences
Content/Description: Contains full-text journals
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Content/Description: Provides full text journal articles, periodicals, books, and selected coverage of multiple publications. Includes a variety of movie reviews and an image collection from the MPTV Image Archive.
History Databases for locating Journal Articles
Both of the main History Databases work the same. However, they contain different areas of focus.
For a global focus, see Historical Abstracts
For North American intersections, check out America: History and Life
Here is a reminder of the many ways that you can control and limit your searches (in both History Databases!!!) in order to get the best results. Open the images in a new tab to zoom in!
Tips for Jstor
Jstor is an excellent full text archive of humanities, social science and business journals and includes a large number of history journals.
- This is not an exhaustive collection, and it will not contain things published within the last 4 years. For citations for the most current history articles, use America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts.
- Remember, because you are searching the full text of the article, choose your keywords carefully to avoid getting irrelevant articles. A plus side of this is JSTOR is good for searching for more obscure referenes to a topic.
- To limit your searches further, select specific disciplines from the limiting list.
- To further control your search, use special search characters to increase the presence of certain important terms:
- ^# after a word will request that that particular word be present a minimum of # number of times in the article (ex. irish^10 AND soldier^10)
- ~# after two words in quotes will ask that those word be within # words of each other. (ex. "women* suffrage"~5)
- Jstor is does not in include articles from the last 2-3 years of most of its journals, so for the most recent scholarship, search America: History and Life.
Developing Your Search Strategy
Planning out your search strategy in advance will save you time finding relevant articles in the library databases. To search most effectively, break your research topic into it's main concepts. Exp
- public policy,
- people with mobility-related disabilities.
Do background research and brainstorming to discover other terms the literature may use for these concepts.
- Brainstorm synonyms for each concept;
- Scan books, encyclopedia articles, & class materials for related words;
- Explore thesauri within the databases for subject terms related to your concept.
Academic Search Complete Thesaurus
|ableist OR discrimination OR prejudice OR bias OR marginalization
||ableism OR "discrimination against people with disabilities"
||"discrimination psychology"[MeSH Terms]
||government OR law OR legal
||"Public Policy"[MeSH Terms]
people with mobility-related disabilities
|wheelchair OR crutches OR elderly OR Parkinson's
||"Mobility Limitation"[MeSH Terms]
Take some time to plan out your search strategy in advance. Remember these important search tips.
- Don't search wth your topic as a single phrase. Determine the key concepts of your topic. Then place each concept in its own search bar.
- Use ORs to string together synonyms or related terms for core concepts and place concepts on individual lines connected with AND.
- Line 1: ableism OR ableist OR discrimination OR prejudice OR bias OR marginalization
- Line 2: public policy OR government OR law OR legal
- Line 3: "people with mobility-related disabilities" OR wheelchair OR crutches OR elderly OR Parkinson's OR "Movement disorders" OR "Mobility Limitation"
- Use quotation marks to search for exact phrases
- Look for the "peer reviewed" limit in each database. You can set this limit on the main search screen (before you search) or narrow your results after you've started your search.
- Set date limits as appropriate for your topic.
If your first search doesn't return the results you want, done give up. Edit your search strategy, add more synonyms, and try again.