Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Learn how to use History Databases Tutorial
Learn how to use Historical Abstracts and America: History & Life databases and their features.
JSTOR is a great multi-disciplinary database, however, its name stands for Journal Storage, and thus it is not the best place for the most up-to-date current scholarship.
For finding scholarly journal articles, the databases that the library subscribes to are your best tools. Many provide full text electronic access to the articles right there. If not, they provide the complete citation so that you can track down the print article in our collection or through ILL.
All library subscription databases can be selected here:
As most of your have figured out by now, the library subscribes to a large number of databases, over 150 to be exact. The History page on the library databases page is a good place to start familiarizing yourself to the sources that will be more helpful to you as a history major.
Much of your work will also be interdisciplinary, so try browsing for databases in other relevant subject areas in the Databases by Academic Department section.
Under the tab above, I have included some of the specific information I shared with you about the specific databases, Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life & Jstor.
Specific Databases to Try
America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO)
Content/Description: Covers the world's scholarly literature by providing journal articles and book excerpts on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada as far back as 1910.
Content/Description:Includes articles, books, reviews and other sources. "Data for Research" provides interactive content. "Workspace" saves and shares sources. "Text Analyzer" searches for sources with user documents. "Understanding Series" provides sources quoting selected text.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost)
Subject: Literature, Humanities
Content/Description: Citations from journals, series, and book publishers. Covers literature and cricitism, language and linguistics, folklore, dramatic arts, historical printing and publishing, rhetoric, composition, and language/literature instruction.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Content/Description: Provides scholarly journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Political Science Complete (EBSCOhost)
Subject: Political Science
Content/Description: Provides full text journals, abstracts, reference books, monographs, and conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature 1967-Present
Subject: Music, Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Provides abstracts to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and other coverage of Western and Eastern classical, pop, folk, and jazz music scholarship.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
Subject: Theatre, Dance
Content/Description: Contains annotated bibliographies linking to full-text documents for articles, reviews, books, and dissertation abstracts on global theatre and performance, created by the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College.