Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A collection of high quality images of art, architecture and photography contributed by museums, universities, cultural institutions, and individual artists and scholars from around the world. Lots of neat features like the ability to create groups and download directly to a powerpoint presentation.
Google Arts and Culture
A collaboration between Google and cultural institutions around the world, this is a great tool to explore art with. You can search and browse in a variety of ways including collection, artist, genre, and location.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
Searchable catalog of much of the Library of Congress's archival image collection. A large portion of this content has been digitized, though some is only available as a thumbnail image for copyright reasons.
is a fantastic image collection that contains over a million images. Most of these are fine art images from all media types, but the database also contains an increasing number of documentary photographs.
- To enter the database for searching, hit the go button. If you don't have one already, I recommend registering, as this will allow you to save groups of images for yourself in the system.
- Use the basic search box to find images of your art object. You might need to try a few different word combinations to get all the images of your piece, as they are sometimes given different titles (for example, Bishop Bernward's doors are called both "door" and "portal"; the best results came with "Hildesheim and Bernward")
- ARTstor is also great for finding comparison works of art for your paper. For this, I would suggest using the "Advanced Search" screen. This will allow you to limit to certain dates, types of art and parts of the world.
- In the resulting images, click on an image for more information and a larger picture that you can zoom in on.
- Once you are registered you can download each image to use in power points or papers or save to a group in artstor.
- You can also save several images at once in ARTstor. To do this, click on each image to highlight it orange. Then under the "Organize" tab, choose "Save Selected Images to" and either create a new folder or add them to an existing one.