Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hope Library Guides

Ethnic / Multicultural Studies (General): American Ethnic Studies

This is the main portal to databases and other library sources for ethnic/multicultural studies research at Van Wylen Library, Hope College.

American Ethnic Studies

The American Ethnic Studies (AES) minor at Hope College features an introductory course, foundational courses in sociology, communication, and history, and a capstone requirement.  The program also includes focused areas of study: African American studies, Asian American studies, Latina/o American studies, and Native American Studies.  This research guide section includes resources in these focused areas of study.  See the other tabs on this research guide for further resources on ethnic and multicultural studies.  More information on the American Ethnic Studies (AES) minor is available through the Hope College Catalog.

Latina/o American Studies

E-Reference Sources

Reference Sources

Here are some titles available in the Van Wylen Reference Collection.  Additional titles are available in this collection on the first floor.

New Books

Here are some of the new books in the Van Wylen library on this topic.  To find additional titles, search Hope Primo.  Subject search suggestions: "Hispanic American", "Hispanic Americans".

Asian American Studies

Reference Sources

Here are some titles available in the Van Wylen Reference Collection.  Additional titles are available in this collection on the first floor.

New Books

Here are some of the new books in the Van Wylen library on this topic.  To find additional titles, search Hope Primo.  Subject search suggestions: "Asian American", "Asian Americans", "East Asian American", "East Asian Americans", "South Asian American", "South Asian Americans", "Southeast Asian American", "Southeast Asian Americans".

Native American Studies

E-Reference Sources 

Reference Sources

Here are some titles available in the Van Wylen Reference Collection.  Additional titles are available in this collection on the first floor.

New Books

Here are some of the new books in the Van Wylen library on this topic.  To find additional titles, search Hope Primo.  Subject search suggestion: "Indians of North America".

African American Studies

E-Reference Sources

Reference Sources

Here are some titles available in the Van Wylen Reference Collection.  Additional titles are available in this collection on the first floor.

New Books

Here are some of the new books in the Van Wylen library on this topic.  To find additional titles, search Hope Primo.  Subject search suggestions: "African Americans", "African American".