Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference sources are great places to start your research. Check out some of the titles on this page.
Credo is an online full text database of over 900 reference sources. You can search them all together to bring up a variety of articles related to a topic.
Grove Music Online Subject: Music
Content/Description: Includes full text access to The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the Oxford Companion to Music, and the Oxford Dictionary of Music.
This is our "go-to" music encyclopedia. This is a great place to start any research paper or program notes project. Includes full-text of Grove Music Online and searches and links to the Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music.
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2006
"Covers all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music."
There are also a wide variety of print reference books located in the "M" section on the 1st floor of the library.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by
Call Number: ML100 .G16 1998
Publication Date: 1997
Oxford Music online is weaker for world music, so the Garland is a good print alternative for topics in this area.