Research Guides: .Dance (General): Reference Sources

About This Page

Reference sources are great places to start your research. Check out some of the titles on this page.

E-Reference Databases

We have a lot of dance resources in our general electronic reference collections as well, so consider searching them to get an introduction to your topic:

CREDO General Reference This link opens in a new window Subject: Interdisciplinary Content/Description: Provides full-text reference books on history, psychology, health, and medicine.
Gale Ebooks (was Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window Subject: Interdisciplinary Content/Description: Provides various ebooks from Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online (Academic Edition) This link opens in a new window Subject: Interdisciplinary Content/Description: Contains encyclopedia articles, full-text journal and magazine articles, primary sources, and multimedia for multiple subjects.

Dance Reference

Van Wylen Library has a number of dance reference books that can give you and introduction to your topic. Here are a few highlights.

International Encyclopedia of Dance by Selma J. Cohen (Editor)
ISBN: 019509462X
Publication Date: 1998
This is the "go to" digital encyclopedia for most dance topics.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by Ruth M. Stone (Editor)
Call Number: eReference
ISBN: 0824060350
Publication Date: 1997
Broken down by nation, this provides some overview of traditional dance within a country.
International Dictionary of Modern Dance by Taryn Benbow-Pfalzgraf (Editor)
Call Number: GV1585 .B46 1998
ISBN: 1558623590
Publication Date: 1998
International Dictionary of Ballet by Martha Bremser (Editor)
Call Number: GV1585 .I57 1993
ISBN: 1558620842
Publication Date: 1993

Research/Instruction Librarians

Van Wylen Library

Contact:

Get in touch with a librarian!