Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hope Library Guides

.Theatre (General): Reference Sources

This is the main portal to databases and other library sources for theatre research at Van Wylen Library, Hope

Online Reference Collections

Browse the following eReference collections in the performing arts

Credo Reference Performing Arts (includes theatre and music)

Credo Reference Film and Television titles

Oxford Reference Theatre Titles

Drama for Students

Drama for Students is a 30 volume encylopedia Van Wylen has as a part of its eReference collection.  It contains essays on over 550 plays and provides summaries and analysis of themes and historical context, as well as bibliographies of additional resources.  The easiest way to see if it contains the play you are researching is to do an advanced search in Gale eBooks.  Enter the play or playwrite in the first search box and "Drama for Students" in the second, and change the dropdown to Publication.
screen capture of advanced search
 

Major Theatre eReference Titles

Print Reference

There are also many print reference books, located on the 1st floor of Van Wylen and in the stacks.  The are located in the PN1600-3000 section. 

Browse a list of Print Reference Titles in Primo

Here are a few highlights:

Research/Instruction Librarians