Library Menu
For finding scholarly journal articles, the databases that the library subscribes to are your best tools. Many provide full text electronic access to the articles right there. If not, they provide the complete citation so that you can track down the print article in our collection or through ILL.
All library subscription databases can be selected here:
https://libguides.hope.edu/az.php
As most of your have figured out by now, the library subscribes to a large number of databases, over 150 to be exact. The History page on the library databases page is a good place to start familiarizing yourself to the sources that will be more helpful to you as a history major.
Much of your work will also be interdisciplinary, so try browsing for databases in other relevant subject areas in the Databases by Academic Department section.
Under the articles tab above, I have included some of the specific information I shared with you about the specific databases, America: History and Life and Jstor.
Subject: History
Content/Description: Contains bibliographic entries and full-text links to journal articles and books about the period A.D. 400-1700.
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Includes a collection of databases with citations on the Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences and other topics.
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Search the open web for scholarly articles, books and book previews, theses, and abstracts. Access to some full-text articles may not be available from off-campus. Please contact a librarian for access issues.
