Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The New Broadway Song Companion by
Call Number: ML128. M78 D48 2009 and eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Contains lists of pre-2009 Musicals. Each song list includes range and song style. There are also indexes that list all songs by voice type, style, and number of singers.
Library Recording Resources
Music Online: Listening (Academic) This link opens in a new window
Search by song title and composer. There will be some cast recordings but also many other albums where singers feature these songs. Tip: change results to list by track rather than album for clarity. Also, be aware that this will include some instrumental arrangements as well.
Places to Browse
Like getting your hands on scores and browsing for ideas? There are three main browsing areas on the 2nd floor that are great for Music Theatre
Musical Vocal Scores - M1503 - These are the complete songs from individual musicals, but not the complete script. This section also includes operas/operettas and is arranged by composer first then title.
Music Theatre Song Anthologies - M1507.S - collections of songs from many musicals, many broken down by voice or ensemble type, particularly the Singer's Music Theatre Anthology series.
Musical Selections - M1508 - Selections of songs from individual musicals.
Librettos - ML50 - full playscripts of musicals, organized by last name of composer, then title
Searching for Specific Songs
- Narrow your search to Material type: Scores, either in the Advanced Search or in the left-hand facets
- When searching in Primo this isn't always a "full text" search. The record may or may not list all of the information that describes the piece (song title, musical title, composer), so be prepared to try different combinations in order to see if we have it.
- Examples: "bye bye birdie" "put on a happy face"
- "bye bye birdie" strouse
- strouse "put on a happy face"
- Do an OR search that includes all elements. Just remember that this will bring back a lot more than your piece, including everything written by that composer
- webber OR evita OR "don't cry for me argentina"
Head of Collections and Access, Visual and Performing Arts Librarian