Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Drama for Students
Drama for Students is a 30 volume encylopedia Van Wylen has as a part of its eReference collection. It contains essays on over 550 plays and provides summaries and analysis of themes and historical context, as well as bibliographies of additional resources. The easiest way to see if it contains the play you are researching is to do an Advanced Search in Gale Virtual Reference. Enter the play or playwrite in the first search box and "Drama for Students" in the second, and change the dropdown to "Publication Title."
For those of you considering a very recent work, Gale also has a volume called Twenty-first Century Drama, that is formated in much the same way as Drama for Students.
Here are some digital and print resources for locating major American 20th century plays.
Getting the Lay of the Land
Try searching the name of your play and author together as well as the playwright alone to see generally what kind of literature exists.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
Subject: Theatre, Dance
Content/Description: Contains annotated bibliographies linking to full-text documents for articles, reviews, books, and dissertation abstracts on global theatre and performance, created by the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College.
Use the library's "discovery layer" particularly to see other options for theatre reviews. In addition to local newspapers that might have reviews, the following theatre titles can be a good source of interviews, broader articles on contemporary playwrights and criticism: Theatre Journal, Variety, Backstage, American Theatre, The Village Voice (NY only)