Library Menu
A number of historical and more recent Hope College publications are available in the Hope College Digital Commons repository. Publications include The Anchor, Hope College Alumni Magazine, Hope College Catalogs, Kruizenga Art Museum Exhibition Catalogs, Milestone, News from Hope College, and The Joint Archives Quarterly.
The Anchor began in 1887 and was first issued weekly in 1914. Covering national and campus news alike, Hope College’s student-run newspaper has grown over the years to encompass over two-dozen editors, reporters, and staff. For much of The Anchor's history, the latest issue was distributed across campus each Wednesday throughout the academic school year (with few exceptions). In recent years The Anchor moved to monthly print issues and a more frequently updated website. The Anchor is now published in print twice per academic semester.
The Anchor Literary Supplement
Published by The Alumni Association of Hope College to serve as a medium of contact between Hope Alumni throughout the world to express ideas, report news, and impel new projects.
The Hope College Catalog collection provides information about areas of study, important dates in the academic year, course schedules, and general college history. Earlier issues to 1931 contain names of trustees, faculty, students, and occasionally: alumni of the college, its preparatory school and theological department. Variant titles include: Hope College Catalogs, Hope College Bulletin, Hope College Circular.
A newsletter previously published by The Joint Archives of Holland (now Hope College Archives and Special Collections).
Kruizenga Art Museum Posters and Exhibition Catalogs
Publications and posters produced by the Kruizenga Art Museum to promote and describe exhibitions and other events. The collections of the museum can be searched and browsed at the Kruizenga Art Museum's Online Collection site.
Milestone, the Hope College yearbook, is an annual publication of Hope College. The first yearbook was published in 1905 as a single edition and was titled The Hope College Annual. The yearbooks became an annual publication in 1916, which was also when it was titled Milestone. Publication of Milestone ended in 2018.
News from Hope College is a newsletter put out by the college. It contains articles on students, alumni, events, issues, alumni listings, and more. Visit the News from Hope College site for more information.
Opus, Hope College’s bi-annual creative arts publication, serves as a showcase for Hope students’ poetry, short stories, and art.
Spera was a stand-alone annual publication highlighting research, writing and other creative work by Hope College faculty. Spera is now included as a section in News from Hope College.
Hope College Digital Commons also features some publications of the Western Theological Seminary:
Western Theological Seminary Catalogs
Additional Western Theological Seminary digital collections are available in their own DSpace repository.
Visit the Teaching Commons to find educational materials published by colleges and universities and made available through Digital Commons.
Hope College Digital Commons content can also be found by searching Hope Primo.