Skip to main content
Hope Library Guides

Hope College Digital Commons: Home

Information on Hope College's institutional repository of faculty and student scholarly work, archives materials, and college publications.

Introduction

Hope College Digital Commons is the college's institutional repository where faculty and student scholarly work, as well as college publications and archives collection finding aids, digital collections, and oral histories, are stored and made openly accessible to the public.  The repository helps to highlight the academic output and history of Hope College.

Hope College Digital Commons runs on bepress' Digital Commons platform -- a hosted repository solution.

Search Digital Commons

Advanced Search

Faculty Bibliography

Hope College's faculty bibliography, originally located on Hope College Digital Commons, is now available at the Records of Faculty Scholarship and Creative Performance

Starting with the 2018 bibliography citations will now be supplied from the Faculty Activity Reporting (FAR) system.  It is no longer necessary for faculty to submit citations directly to the library.

Open Access Policy and Submissions

Open Access Policy

Hope College faculty are asked to follow the college's Open Access Policy and submit peer-reviewed articles and conference proceedings to Hope College Digital Commons. Please see the Open Access LibGuide for more information. This guide will also help determine what publishers will allow for deposit in the institutional repository.

Faculty are encouraged to submit other forms of scholarship in addition to peer-reviewed articles and conference proceedings, including books, book chapters, performances, presentations, exhibits, and works of art.

Open Access Fund

The Van Wylen Library may be able to assist with article processing fees for open access journals.  Visit the Open Access Fund site for information.

Submissions

For detailed information on how to submit scholarship to the repository, please click on the Faculty Submissions or Student Submissions tabs above. 

Faculty submissions can be made to digitalcommons@hope.edu or by creating a Digital Commons account and using an online form.

Students are unable to directly submit their own work to the repository at this time. Please contact the administrator.

Digital Commons Account

In order to directly submit publications and other faculty scholarly work to the repository it is first necessary to create a Digital Commons account. To establish an account, please go here.

Author Dashboard

When faculty create an account they have access to their own, personalized, Author Dashboard.  The dashboard provides usage statistics for submitted work, including how many times a work has been downloaded and from where.  Further information on the Author Dashboard is available here.‚Äč  

Authors also receive emailed monthly readership reports when their email addresses are present in their submissions.