Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tutorial to learn how to use ATLA Religion Database
Do We have this Article?
When you find a citation in a database that doesn't have the full text of the article included, look for these links:
full-text options or
Following these links will search our system to see if we have it available somewhere else. Be patient, sometimes you have to click through several links to get to the article!
For finding scholarly journal articles, the databases that the library subscribes to are your best tools. Many provide full text electronic access to the articles right there. If not, they provide the complete citation so that you can track down the print article in our collection or through ILL.
All library subscription databases can be selected here:
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials This link opens in a new window
Subject: Religion and Theology
Content/Description: Provides journal articles and book excerpts on religious and theological studies.
BAS Online Archive This link opens in a new window
Subject: Religion, Theology, History
Content/Description: Contains full-text journal articles from a collected series of biblical journals.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Content/Description: Contains digitized images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
General Interest Christian Periodicals, 1743-1889 This link opens in a new window
Content/Description: Provides periodicals of sermons from various groups that address broad religious themes and at the time appealed to a general readership.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Content/Description: Provides scholarly journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Content/Description: Contains bibliographic entries and full-text links to journal articles and books about the period A.D. 400-1700.
Jewish Studies Source This link opens in a new window
Subject: Religion, History
Content/Description: Contains articles and full-text documents from journals, periodicals and newspapers, monographs, and biographies of historical and contemporary Jewish people. Includes the Jewish Telegraphic Agency database from 1922 to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Content/Description:Includes articles, books, reviews and other sources. "Data for Research" provides interactive content. "Workspace" saves and shares sources. "Text Analyzer" searches for sources with user documents. "Understanding Series" provides sources quoting selected text.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Literature, Humanities
Content/Description: Citations from journals, series, and book publishers. Covers literature and cricitism, language and linguistics, folklore, dramatic arts, historical printing and publishing, rhetoric, composition, and language/literature instruction.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Subject: Humanities, Social Sciences
Content/Description: Contains full-text journals
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Content/Description:Includes a collection of databases with citations on the Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences and other topics.