Organic Chemistry Research - CHEM 256b - Organic Chemistry Lab Independent Project

Recommended Chemistry Journals

Many of our Chemistry journals are available in a variety of formats. While newer issues are exclusively available digitally, older issues are often only available in print (or even on microform). If you need help finding a print copy of a journal issue, please ask a librarian.

Finding a Specific Article or Journal

Advanced Search in Primo
Primo is a great place to search for a known article or journal -- it is also a helpful place to begin your research when you aren't sure which library databases you might want to search in.

CASSI This link opens in a new window
Subject: Chemistry
Content/Description: Provides bibliographic information for full journal titles by using their abbreviation, intended for researchers and librarians.

What does this citation mean? How could I find it?

Examples:

J. Organomet. Chem. 1974, Vol. 66, 195-207 (Seyferth et al)
Zhu Wen, Yanli Leng, Qiao Li, Xiaohua Cai, Xiaohong Li, Yupeng Zhang, Jianhui Zhang, A highly sensitive turn-on fluorescent sensor for hydrazine based on conjugated D-π-A molecule, Tetrahedron Letters, Volume 117, 2023, 154371

Databases to Try Searching In

Start With This One

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Subject: Chemistry, Engineering
Content/Description: Provides access to chemical literature and references by topic, reaction, or substance in CAS Registry and CASREACT.
Available only to Hope College students, faculty, and staff.
Please Note: Before initial use, users must create a personal account.

** To search SciFinder straight from ChemDraw follow these instructions.

Other Helpful Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Includes a collection of databases with citations on the Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences and other topics.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Search the open web for scholarly articles, books and book previews, theses, and abstracts. Access to some full-text articles may not be available from off-campus. Please contact a librarian for access issues.
American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
Subject: Chemistry
Content/Description: The complete set of American Chemical Society Journals.
PubMed (.gov) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Nursing, Healthcare, Medicine
Content/Description: Provides abstracts, articles, books, reviews, and data from the U.S. National Library of Medicine National Institutes of Health.
SpringerLink ebooks - English/International Collections This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary, Sciences
Content/Description: Provides access to full-text electronic books.
SpringerLink Journals This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Provides access to serial publications across a variety of topics.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Content/Description: Provides full-text journals on a variety of topics.

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication

The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication by Gregory M. Banik, Grace Baysinger, Prashant V. Kamat, Norbert J. Pienta
Especially Helpful Sections:
4.3.3 ACS Quick (Citation) Style Guide
4.3.5 More In-Depth Citation Information
5.3 Editorial Style
4.6 Names and Numbers for Chemical Compounds

Finding More Good Sources

Always check the works cited/references of the helpful sources you have found already to see if they lead you to other a little bit older helpful sources. You can also search your best article's title in Google Scholar where you can see what more recent sources have cited your source.

Example Article

CHEM 256b - Organic Chemistry Lab Independent Project: Organic Chemistry Research

Header

Recommended Chemistry Journals

Finding a Specific Article or Journal

Databases to Try Searching In

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication

Finding More Good Sources