Research Guides: Using Multimedia Legally: A Guide to Finding and Using Multimedia in Digital Projects: Resources for Finding Media

Image Resources

Creative Commons Search
A good portal for searching collections by creative commons license and finding material that can be freely reused and, in many cases, modified. For images, choose one of the image collections, like Flickr.
Freeimages.com
A site that provides images that you can use freely. In many cases you will need to ask the artist permission, but it has an embedded feature in order to do this.
MorgueFile
Collection of images that are free to use, as long as your modify them.
Free Range Stock
Collection of free stock photos. Supported by ad revenue.
Stock Vault
Free images for non-commercial use.
Google Search by Image
Trying to find the origins of an image that you like? Try using this Google feature. In Google Images, click the little camera icon in the search box, and then copy in the URL of the image that you have, or upload a jpg. The results may give you the information you need to get back to the copyright holder. (ex. http://i.imgur.com/2lQYezK.jpg)
Unsplash
Nice collection of free photographs.
Pikwizard
A site of free stock photos that are from artists. These images are not under a creative commons license but are rather under a free license. This means that the photographs are still under copyright but the photographers have given permission for these images to be used for free.

Video Content

As long as your are embedding video content (so your viewers can easily get back to the original source and your aren't copying, modifying and uploading someone else's content yourself, you can safely use sites like YouTube and Vimeo to bring in video clips to your project.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
This is a library database of streaming videos, including documentaries and news clips. All this content can be embedded like other web content. Important! Because this is a subscription tool, the videos will work normally when viewed on campus but viewers off campus will need to log in with a 1Hope ID.

If you want to upload clips to Google Drive and embed them from there, make sure that they are your own uniquely created content or content that you have permission edit (ie "create derivative works"). Both YouTube and Vimeo allow you to filter down to videos that have Creative Commons licenses. Another place to look for this is:

Creative Commons Search
A good portal for searching collections by creative commons license and finding material that can be freely reused. For videos, choose YouTube or Wikimedia Commons
Pexels Videos
Pexels offers free creative commons licensing on stock video footage. All of their videos are free to download, copy, modify, adapt, and change as you'd like.
Internet Archive (Video)
The internet archive stores hundred of video, documents, images, etc. While some of the video clips available are not usable for video projects due to copyright restrictions, you can limit your search to creative commons licenses and find freely available, modifiable, and downloadable video clips.
Videvo
Videvo offers free stock videos and motion graphics for use in any project. Videvo's video clips are available to use free of charge, in both personal and commercial productions. Video clips that carry the Creative Commons 3.0 license must be attributed the original author.

Audio Resources

Internet Archive: Audio
A wide variety of audio resources. Be careful with this one and read the fine print, as not everything here is free to use.
MusOpen
Music and other music resources that are free to use.
Creative Commons Search
A good portal for searching collections by creative commons license. For audio, choose one of the music collections, like Jamendo, ccMixter, and SoundCloud.
SoundCloud
A streaming collection of music and podcasts. Files can be easily embedded through the links under Share. There is much content here that is licensed under Creative Commons that can be downloaded, reused and modified. Filter results under "Tracks" after searching.