Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Grove Music Online
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Music online is our primary music eReference tool, and it includes a lot of information on world music. Keep searches simple, and look for the broader categories that discuss your topic.
These are good places to check if you want a short definition or summary of a musical concept, instrument, or musician. Tip: Use the "Search within title/publication" box so that you don't search the larger database.
World Music and Dance Encyclopedias
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by
Call Number: eReference
Publication Date: 1997
A great print encyclopedia on world music, where you can find substantial essays on the traditional music of a nation you are researching. Expect them to be longer than an article but shorter than a book.
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World by
Call Number: ML102.P66 C66 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Multi-volume encyclopedia that focuses on global popular music. The first two volumes give a breakdown of the industry and instrumental areas. The rest of the set contains 2 volumes on each continent, one with essays broken down by nation/region/city, and the other by musical genre.
Music Online: Listening (Academic) This link opens in a new window
The library's streaming music database includes a large collection of global albums, including recordings from the Smithsonial Folkways project.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary streaming video database does include some global music and dance performance and documentaries.