Getting Started - ART 241 - Researching Modern Art - Research Guides at Hope College

Reference Books

We have several books in our reference collection and in the stacks that might provide basic biographical information on your artist. Some of these have bibliographies that can provide further resources for your search.

The Grove Dictionary of Art by Jane Turner, ed.
Call Number: N31 .D5 1996
The 34 volume Dictionary of Art is the most in-depth scholarly art encyclopedia in the field, containing articles on artists, movements, genres and nationalities of art.
The Grove Encyclopedia of American Art by Joan Marter (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780195335798
Publication Date: 2011
Benezit Dictionary of Artists by Editions Grund
Call Number: N40 .D5213 2006
ISBN: 2700030702
Publication Date: 2006
Looking for artist information and not finding anything in the Grove Dictionary of Art? Try the Benezit, which offers more exhaustive coverage on individual artists throughout history.
International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture by Randall Van Vynckt (Editor); Doreen Yarwood (Contribution by); Suhail Butt (Contribution by)
Call Number: NA40 .I48 1993 (2nd fl.)
ISBN: 1558620893
Publication Date: 1993
20th century painters and sculptors (British)
Call Number: N6768 .S62 1990 (2nd fl)
Latin American and Caribbean artists of the modern era
Call Number: N6502.4 .S45 2003 (Reference)
North American women artists of the twentieth century : a biographical dictionary
Call Number: N6503 .N67 1995 (Reference)

Subject Guide

Jessica Hronchek

Email Me

Contact:

616-395-7124

Subjects: Art and Art History, Dance, Library and Information Science, Music, Theatre

ART 241 - Researching Modern Art: Getting Started

Reference Books

Subject Guide