Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
1. Check out materials!
All students, staff, and faculty can check out items at the library. All you need is your Hope ID card.
2. Not just academic books and articles
You might be surprised what the library has besides academic books and journals—things like:
Don't see the novel you are looking for? Check in Primo to see if it's in a different area of the library.
We have movies! Look up a movie in PRIMO to see if we own it, or simply browse the DVD collection in the library on the 2nd floor.
4. Children's Materials
The Curriculum Library on the 2nd Floor contains a wide range of books and materials for children and young adults.
- Fiction currently divided between picture books, young readers, young adult, and foreign language
- Non-fiction includes textbooks and curriculum examples
- Ellison die cutters and other paper cutting and binding tools
5. Technology Lending
The library also lends technology! Chromebooks and other laptops, cameras (GoPro!), iPads, etc.
6. Digital Media Lab
The Digital Media Lab is located on the 2nd Floor.
Services We Offer
color printing, laminating, poster printing, basic office supples for purchase, print and mail services pickup location, etc.
provides assistance with google docs, sheets, slides, drive, Adobe editing, photo and video editing (iMovie, etc.), four different types of scanners, podcasting studio, etc.
The library has access to over 721,000 ebooks. The collections are largely academic/non-fiction (but not all!) and almost all titles are accessible immediately. All are easy to read on a computer/browser and many also play well with tablets and mobile devices that can use Adobe Digital Editions for download.
8-10. Primo - library search
PRIMO is the library's main search tool. Use this to explore the collections, both physically held by the library and available online. Find this search box on the library homepage.
After doing a search, you can limit your results by things like "Books," "Articles," "Audio Visual," etc.
You can text the information of a library item (Title, Location and Call#) to your phone, or request that something be put on hold for you. NOTE: You must log into PRIMO to place holds/requests.
is the Michigan e-Library. Use MeLCat to search public and academic libraries all across the state. You can use your Hope ID to request items and they will be sent to Van Wylen Library for you to pick-up and borrow.
Already searching in Primo? Look for the MeLCat External Search link to jump your search over to MelCat.
12. Getting past those paywalls
Ever get stuck behind a pay wall prohibiting access to information online? Try the library! Library databases index the full-text content of a wide range of commercial publications. Try searching Primo for the title of the article you are looking for, or just email the link to email@example.com and we're happy to check for you.
13. NYT, WSJ, Chronicle of Higher Ed
New York Times Academic Pass This link opens in a new window
Unlimited access to NYTimes.com and various mobile apps. For more information or to get help registering, view our guide
. Once you've created a NY Times account, log in for additional features. Hope employees need to renew their membership annually through this same academic pass page.
Wall Street Journal Digital Edition Academic Pass This link opens in a new window Subject:
Journalism, Communications, InterdisciplinaryContent/Description:
Grants access to WSJ.com and mobile apps.
For more information or to get help registering, view our guide
. You must register as a user with your Hope email before accessing content.
Chronicle of Higher Education (1989-Present) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Vocational Resources
Content/Description:Contains current news, advice columns, discussion forums, job abs, and career-building tools for those working in higher education.
14. Library Databases
Curious about the library's databases? Browse the list here:
LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window
Subject: College/Career Prep
Content/Description: Includes a resume builder, courses, practice tests, tutorials, eBooks, and flashcards for a wide range of career goals.
Please note: Available only from a Michigan IP address. Must create a user account to access the resources.
Ancestry.com This link opens in a new window
Content/Description: Ancestry.com is an online genealogy resource that includes census data, military service info, marriage records, death records, and more.
Please Note: This resource is limited to 5 simultaneous users. If access is unavailable, please try again later.
16. Historic Hope College publications
17. Space reservations
A variety of spaces are available for reservation in Van Wylen. Consult EMS and narrow down to Van Wylen Library to learn more about the spaces and their setup options. (Note: The library restricts access to the primary classroom spaces in the month of September due to our high teaching levels at that time)
18. Recommend books for purchase
You can recommend books or other materials you'd like to see in the library's collection!
19. Curated Displays
Would you like to collaborate with the library on a curated display? Share your expertise, recommend resources, or advertise a campus event alongside library materials. We can do this with a physical display or a digital libguide.
20. We're here to help!
Help is available both in person and online. The Research Help Desk on the main floor is the primary hub for inquiries of all sorts, but the other service areas are fully staffed and can assist you in getting the help you need.