Technical Services Manual

DVDs (Videorecordings)

Follow the general Physical Processing workflow but incorporate these special instructions.

A. Sticker: attach circular property sticker in an upright orientation

• Exception: Do not put sticker on double-sided discs; instead, write ‘Van Wylen Library, Hope College’ on the inner circle of the DVD.

B. Barcode, location, and call number labels

• Barcode should be placed on back of the video box, lower right corner. If publisher UPC exists close to barcode area, cover UPC with blank white label.
• Location = ’hvvd2’ for regular sized videos or ‘hvva2’ for Video Oversize.
• Print call number label for video case and substantial booklets. For DVD cases, put label on DVD cover sheet (not plastic cover). The call number should have ‘Video’ at the top.

C. Item record: ensure the following steps are taken with the DVD's item record, if applicable.

• Item record material type = DVD
• Add item replacement cost if ≥ $100
• Item policy = Non-MeL if any of the following is true:
  - Item replacement cost is > $200
  - Academy Award for Best Picture
  - PAL/Non-Region 1 film
  - Public Performance Rights film
  - Television program

D. Special situations

1. Inserts and booklets: substantial booklets should be included in 300 field ‡e, will have item record fulfillment note = Contains booklet, and should have call number labels. Flimsy track or scene list inserts may be left in the case but will not be described as booklets, and advertisements should be discarded.

   For DVD cases containing more than one disc (fill in the blank with the number):
        Fulfillment note = Contains ___ discs
        Put yellow sticker “CONTAINS ___ DISCS” 
           on front cover close to lower left corner

   For DVD cases containing a booklet (substantial in size; ‡e booklet in MARC 300 field):
        [Note: flimsy track or scene list inserts may be left in the case but will not be described      
        as booklets; advertisements should be discarded]
        Fulfillment note = Contains 1 booklet
        Put orange sticker “CONTAINS BOOKLET”  on front cover close to lower left corner

   For DVD cases containing multiple discs and a booklet:
        Fulfillment note = Contains [n] discs and 1 booklet
        Put yellow and orange stickers on front cover close to lower left corner

2. Academy Award for Best Picture films
   Bib record: 690 ACADEMY AWARD FOR BEST PICTURE [year] 
       (e.g., for Academy Award won during the 2020 ceremony, the year in the 690 would be 2019)
       Item record item policy = Non-MeL

3. PAL/Non-Region 1 films
       Bib record: 590 Non-Region 1 DVD 
       Item record item policy = Non-MeL
       Item fulfillment note: Tell patron: THIS DVD MUST BE PLAYED ON A NON-REGION 1 DVD PLAYER
       Sticker on DVD case:

4. Public Performance Rights films:
       Bib record: 590 Public Performance Rights
       Item record item policy = Non-MeL 
       Location = hvad1 - Permanent Reserves

NOTE: Software and spoken recordings are processed similar to videos; however, they are shelved in the general stacks, have the same locations as books (hvst0, etc.), do not have ‘Video’ in the call number, and should be packaged in a DVD case (not a jewel case).

Rare Books

Process

1. Using pencil, write the call number on the inside back cover of the rare book.
2. Search for the title using an OCLC # search:  All titles > OCLC Control Number (035a+z) > OCLC #.  Click on the title to view the bib information.
3. On the student computer, navigate to the desktop folder ‘Rare flags’ and open the template for Rare book flags.
4. Refer to the highlighted fields on the printed bib record.  Copy and paste the necessary fields from the online bib record to the template, using the format below.  If the rare book will be shelved in the ‘Medium Rare’ area, include ‘M E D I U M’ at the top of the call number.
5. Use the Rare flag template file to print four flags on one sheet of white card stock paper*; Lucida Console font size 11; landscape orientation.
    - call number
    - author
    - title
    - ‘gift of’ note
   Cut each flag to 2 ¾ inch width (make cuts at 8¼, 5½, and 2¾ inches).  Insert into the text block of the book (not the front where it might slip out) such that the call number is visible.
6. Location flag  – insert a colored flag as needed; these will remain in the books:
    - Bright pink flag* for Medium Rare
    - Pale green flag* for Printing / Bookbinding Collection
7. When placing the flags in the book, do your best to keep the inked section outside of the book

*All paper related to Rare Books must be acid-free.

Scores (printed music)

Creating Cover Copies for Scores with Pambinding

For scores that require pambinders, we create color copies of the cover of the score to adhere to the front of the pambinder to help identify the score.

1. Use the Digital Media Lab (DML) Scannx book scanner to make color copies of the score covers. Email them to yourself.
2. Use the DML color printing station to print the cover images. "Fit" the image to find the % reduction to fit. Then subtract 15 from that number and use that number for scale. (E.g., if the Fit is 90% of the scan, subtract 15 and scale the image to 75% (90-15).) Use the fund number 110000-31501 (the library fund number).
3. Use the paper cutter to trim the cover to size.
4. Fill out a DML lamination request form for thin soft lamination and use the fund number 110000-31501 (the library fund number). Name: Sarah Baar; Number: 7906; Email: baar@hope.edu.

Pambinding

1. Refer to the Mending manual to complete the pambinding process.

Physical Processing

1. Adhere gift plate (if applicable; Kooiker) on inside front cover of score or pambinder.
2. Adhere date due slip in the back on most appropriate page (if no part, on the inside back cover of the pambinder; if there are parts, place it on the pocket).
3. Stamp score in front and back of score with Van Wylen Library current date stamp.
   If score is in a pambinder, also stamp the inside front and back covers of the pambinder.
   If there are pocket parts, see processing example below. If the usual date stamp is too large, a smaller library stamp may be used.
4. When editing the holdings record, use hvus2 for the score location, and CTRL + s to add the call #.
5. Edit the item to update the Copy (1) and any price information.
6. If there are loose score parts in a pocket of the pambinder, add a Fulfillment note such as: Contains [n] parts; or if two pockets are needed: Contains [n] parts in 2 pockets.
7. Save all work and release all records using Ctrl + Alt + r.
8. Affix the bar code to the pambinder. If there is a pocket, place the barcode above the ‘Contains’ note on the pocket.

Call number label

1. Print label(s) for score and all loose pocket parts.
2. Cover outside label with clear protector, but do not wrap it around the pambinder (could use half size label protector).
3. Label loose pocket parts on upper left front; do not cover pocket part labels with protectors.

Processing example of pocket parts in a score: